Crime and Disorder Bill — Reduce age of consent for homosexual acts to 16 — 22 Jun 1998

The majority of MPs voted to insert a new clause into the Crime and Disorder Bill[1] which read:[2]

The last part was to equalize the age of consent between homosexual and heterosexual acts which at the time was set at 17 in Northern Ireland.

This clause did not survive into the Crime and Disorder Act 1998,[6] and finally appeared in Sexual Offences (Amendment) Act 2000.

Historical Hansard | Online Hansard |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con18 (+1 tell) 109 (+2 tell)080.2%
DUP0 1050.0%
Ind0 10100.0%
Lab283 (+1 tell) 14071.3%
LDem31 3073.9%
PC2 0050.0%
SNP2 0033.3%
UUP0 1010.0%
Total:336 129072.3%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Mr Richard BodyBoston and SkegnessConaye
Mr Tim BoswellDaventryConaye
Mr Peter BottomleyWorthing WestConaye
Mr Graham BradyAltrincham and Sale WestConaye
Mr Peter BrookeCities of London and WestminsterConaye
Mr David CurrySkipton and RiponConaye
Mr Alan DuncanRutland and MeltonConaye
Mr Michael FabricantLichfieldConaye
Mr Alastair GoodladEddisburyConaye
Mr Edward HeathOld Bexley and SidcupConaye
Mr Robert JacksonWantageConaye
Hon. Bernard JenkinNorth EssexConaye
Mr Robert KeySalisburyConaye
Mrs Eleanor LaingEpping ForestContellaye
Sir Peter LloydFarehamConaye
Mr Andrew MacKayBracknellConaye
Mr David PriorNorth NorfolkConaye
Mr Andrew RoweFaversham and Mid KentConaye
Mr Shaun WoodwardWitneywhilst Conaye
Mr Donald AndersonSwansea EastLabno
Mr Stuart BellMiddlesbroughLabno
Mr Gerry BerminghamSt Helens SouthLabno
Mr Jamie CannIpswichLabno
Mr Tam DalyellLinlithgowLabno
Mr David DrewStroudLabno
Mrs Gwyneth DunwoodyCrewe and NantwichLabno
Mr George MudieLeeds EastLabno
Mr Bill O'BrienNormantonLabno
Mr Raymond PowellOgmoreLabno
Mr Allan RogersRhonddaLabno
Mr Ted RowlandsMerthyr Tydfil and RhymneyLabno
Ms Geraldine SmithMorecambe and LunesdaleLabno
Mr Robert WareingLiverpool, West DerbyLabno
Mr Colin BreedSouth East CornwallLDemno
Mr John BurnettTorridge and West DevonLDemno
Mr Bob RussellColchesterLDemno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive