Line of Route — 26 May 1999

Mr Nick Raynsford MP, Greenwich and Woolwich voted in the minority (No).

I beg to move,

That this House approves the First Report from the Administration Committee on the Proposal to Re-open the Line of Route during the Summer Adjournment (HC 394).

I beg to move, To leave out from "House" to the end of the Question, and to add instead thereof:

"declines to approve the First Report from the Administration Committee (HC394) on the proposal to re-open the Line of Route during the Summer Adjournment until the full implications for entry into the Houses of Parliament at other times of the year, and other options for making these arrangements, are examined and costed."

Question put, That the amendment be made:--

The House divided: Ayes 119, Noes 36.

Historical Hansard | Online Hansard |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con36 14 (+1 tell)031.5%
Lab51 21 (+1 tell)117.8%
LDem31 (+2 tell) 0071.7%
UUP0 1010.0%
Total:118 36125.1%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Mr Peter AtkinsonHexhamConno
Mr Tim BoswellDaventryConno
Sir Sydney ChapmanChipping BarnetConno
Sir Patrick CormackSouth StaffordshireConno
Mr James CranBeverley and HoldernessConno
Mr Oliver HealdNorth East HertfordshireConno
Mr Robert KeySalisburyConno
Mrs Eleanor LaingEpping ForestConno
Mrs Jacqui LaitBeckenhamConno
Sir Peter LloydFarehamConno
Mrs Marion RoeBroxbourneContellno
Mr David RuffleyBury St EdmundsConno
Mr Richard SpringWest SuffolkConno
Mr John WhittingdaleMaldon and East ChelmsfordConno
Sir George YoungNorth West HampshireConno
Miss Margaret BeckettDerby SouthLabno
Mr Clive BettsSheffield, AttercliffeLabno
Mr Ivor CaplinHoveLabno
Mr Ben ChapmanWirral SouthLabno
Mr David CrausbyBolton North EastLabno
Mr Jim DowdLewisham WestLabno
Mr Mike GapesIlford SouthLabno
Mr Keith HillStreathamLabno
Ms Glenda JacksonHampstead and HighgateLabno
Mr David JamiesonPlymouth, DevonportLabno
Miss Melanie JohnsonWelwyn HatfieldLabno
Ms Jenny JonesWolverhampton South WestLabno
Mrs Helen LiddellAirdrie and ShottsLabno
Mr Peter MandelsonHartlepoolLabno
Mr John MaxtonGlasgow CathcartLabno
Mr Tony McWalterHemel HempsteadLabno
Dr Nick PalmerBroxtoweLabtellno
Mr Stephen PoundEaling NorthLabno
Ms Bridget PrenticeLewisham EastLabno
Mr Nick RaynsfordGreenwich and WoolwichLabno
Mr Paddy TippingSherwoodLabno
Ms Rosie WintertonDoncaster CentralLabno
Mr Denis MacShaneRotherhamLabboth

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive