City of London (Ward Elections) Bill — Interpretation — 14 Jul 1999

Mr Jeremy Corbyn MP, Islington North voted in the minority (No).

As amended in Committee, considered.

I beg to move amendment No. 7, in page 2, line 19, at end insert--

'"relevant employee" means a person whose principal or only place of work on the qualifying date is ordinarily the hereditament in respect of which the entitlement to appoint a voter arises and who works for that qualifying body.'.

Number of Relevant Employees Maximum Number of Persons whom that Body may Elect

Up to 1,000 1.

For every 1,000 over the first 1,000 1 for every thousand relevant employees

Question put , That the Question be now proposed:-

The House divided: Ayes 199, Noes 62.

Historical Hansard | Online Hansard |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con99 (+2 tell) 0062.7%
Ind0 1050.0%
Lab95 48 (+2 tell)135.1%
LDem4 12034.8%
Total:198 61142.2%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Mrs Irene AdamsPaisley NorthLabno
Mr Joe AshtonBassetlawLabno
Ms Charlotte AtkinsStaffordshire MoorlandsLabno
Mr Harry BarnesNorth East DerbyshireLabno
Mr Tony BennChesterfieldLabno
Mrs Christine ButlerCastle PointLabno
Mr Jamie CannIpswichLabno
Mr David ChaytorBury NorthLabno
Mr Tony ClarkeNorthampton SouthLabno
Mr Iain ColemanHammersmith and FulhamLabno
Mr Michael ConnartyFalkirk EastLabtellno
Mr Jeremy CorbynIslington NorthLabno
Mr Jim CousinsNewcastle upon Tyne CentralLabno
Mr John CryerHornchurchLabno
Mr Tam DalyellLinlithgowLabno
Mr Terry DavisBirmingham, Hodge HillLabno
Mr Hilton DawsonLancaster and WyreLabno
Mr Andrew DismoreHendonLabno
Mr Bill EtheringtonSunderland NorthLabno
Mr Neil GerrardWalthamstowLabno
Dr Ian GibsonNorwich NorthLabno
Dr Norman GodmanGreenock and InverclydeLabno
Mrs Eileen GordonRomfordLabno
Mr Ivan HendersonHarwichLabno
Mr David HinchliffeWakefieldLabno
Mr Jimmy HoodClydesdaleLabno
Mr Kelvin HopkinsLuton NorthLabno
Mr Alan HurstBraintreeLabno
Dr Brian IddonBolton South EastLabno
Ms Jenny JonesWolverhampton South WestLabno
Mr David KidneyStaffordLabno
Mr Andrew MacKinlayThurrockLabtellno
Mr Gordon MarsdenBlackpool SouthLabno
Mr John McDonnellHayes and HarlingtonLabno
Mr Bill MichieSheffield, HeeleyLabno
Dr Nick PalmerBroxtoweLabno
Ms Linda PerhamIlford NorthLabno
Mr Peter PikeBurnleyLabno
Mr Gordon PrenticePendleLabno
Mr Syd RapsonPortsmouth NorthLabno
Mr Phil SawfordKetteringLabno
Mr Jonathan R ShawChatham and AylesfordLabno
Mr Alan SimpsonNottingham SouthLabno
Mr Dennis SkinnerBolsoverLabno
Ms Angela SmithBasildonLabno
Mr Gerry SteinbergCity of DurhamLabno
Mr Paul StinchcombeWellingboroughLabno
Ms Audrey WisePrestonLabno
Mr Mike WoodBatley and SpenLabno
Mr Anthony D WrightGreat YarmouthLabno
Mr Andy KingRugby and KenilworthLabboth
Mr David ChidgeyEastleighLDemaye
Mr Donald GorrieEdinburgh WestLDemaye
Mr Mike HancockPortsmouth SouthLDemaye
Dr Evan HarrisOxford West and AbingdonLDemaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive