Financial Services and Markets Bill — 18 Apr 2000 at 16:12

Lord Astor of Hever voted in the minority (Content).

[Amendment No. 49 not moved.]

moved Amendments Nos. 50 to 56:

Page 9, line 9, leave out ("an") and insert ("a controlled").
Page 9, line 10, leave out ("an") and insert ("a controlled").
Page 9, line 15, at end insert--

("(9A) An investment is a controlled investment if it is an investment of a specified kind or one which falls within a specified class of investment.").

Page 9, line 16, after ("2") insert ("(except paragraph 26)").
Page 9, line 16, leave out ("subsection (9)") and insert ("subsections (9) and (9A)").
Page 9, line 17, leave out ("that subsection") and insert ("each of those subsections").
Page 9, line 19, at end insert ("or (9A)").

On Question, amendments agreed to.

Clause 20 [The classes of activity and categories of investment]:

moved Amendment No. 57:

Page 9, line 31, at end insert--

("( ) The activity carried on by way of business of giving or offering or agreeing to give advice (other than legal advice) to persons in their capacity as borrowers or potential borrowers on the terms of a loan or a proposed loan secured or to be secured on land or any other property shall be a regulated activity.").

On Question, Whether the said amendment (No. 57) shall be agreed to?

*Their Lordships divided: Contents, 93; Not-Contents, 145.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Not-Content)Minority (Content)Turnout
Con0 82 (+2 tell)37.7%
Green0 1100.0%
Ind Lab1 0100.0%
Lab105 (+2 tell) 261.9%
LDem24 044.4%
Other4 122.7%
UUP1 050.0%
Crossbench7 57.3%
Total:142 9136.8%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Lord McCarthy Labaye
Lord Wedderburn of CharltonLabaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive