Transport Bill — Transfer to be to company owned by Crown — 9 May 2000

Mr Ian Davidson MP, Glasgow Pollok voted in the minority (Aye).

As amended in the Standing Committee, considered.

(a) has been formed and registered under the Companies Act 1985 or the Companies (Northern Ireland) Order 1986; and

(b) is wholly owned by the Crown.

(2) For the purposes of this Part a company shall only be regarded as wholly owned by the Crown if each of the issued shares of the company is held by--

(a) the Treasury,

(b) the Secretary of State, or

(c) the nominee of a person falling within paragraph (a) or (b).

(3) A company to which any property, rights or liabilities have been transferred under a transfer scheme shall not issue any shares or share rights unless such shares or share rights are issued to the Treasury, the Secretary of State or a nominee of either of them.

(4) Subject to subsection (5), neither the Treasury, the Secretary of State nor a nominee of either of them shall dispose of any shares or share rights in a company to which any property, rights or liabilities have been transferred under a transfer scheme.

(5) Subsection (4) does not apply to any disposal by the Treasury, the Secretary of State or a nominee or either of them to any other such person.'.-- [Mrs. Dunwoody.]

Brought up, and read the First time.

I beg to move, That the clause be read a Second time.

Mr. Deputy Speaker (Sir Alan Haselhurst):

With this it will be convenient to discuss the following: New clause 36-- Transfer to be to not for profit company --

If the government had decided to adopt this trust model, I doubt there would have been any opposition from the CAA or NATS.

Staff shares can only be sold to other staff or a staff trust.

in spite of the protestations of the airlines that "safety [is] our most important priority . . . [we] do not seek competitive advantage as far as safety is concerned", concern remains that in the event of conflict between safety considerations and profit margins, airlines may favour their profit margins.

some things . . . are too important to leave to bodies whose first motive is profit and whose first fiduciary duty is to their shareholders.

Our air is not for sale.

the worst of all the possible options.

our air is not for sale

the Council believes they will preserve the successful civil/military relationship that currently exists between NATS and the MOD and ensure that air traffic services are sustained on a joint and integrated basis . . .

Question put, That the clause be read a Second time:--

The House divided: Ayes 99, Noes 307.

Historical Hansard | Online Hansard |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con0 201.3%
Ind0 30100.0%
Lab306 (+2 tell) 43 (+2 tell)085.1%
LDem0 42089.4%
PC0 2050.0%
SNP0 3050.0%
UUP0 3033.3%
Total:306 98063.4%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Mr Harry BarnesNorth East DerbyshireLabaye
Mr Tony BennChesterfieldLabaye
Mr Andrew BennettDenton and ReddishLabaye
Mr David ChaytorBury NorthLabaye
Mr Michael ClaphamBarnsley West and PenistoneLabaye
Ms Ann ClwydCynon ValleyLabaye
Mr Michael ConnartyFalkirk EastLabaye
Mr Jeremy CorbynIslington NorthLabaye
Mrs Ann CryerKeighleyLabaye
Mr John CryerHornchurchLabaye
Mr Tam DalyellLinlithgowLabaye
Mr Ian DavidsonGlasgow PollokLabaye
Mrs Janet DeanBurtonLabaye
Mr Andrew DismoreHendonLabaye
Mr Jim DobbinHeywood and MiddletonLabaye
Mr Brian H DonohoeCunninghame SouthLabaye
Mrs Gwyneth DunwoodyCrewe and NantwichLabaye
Mr Frank FieldBirkenheadLabaye
Mr Paul FlynnNewport WestLabaye
Mrs Maria FyfeGlasgow MaryhillLabaye
Dr Norman GodmanGreenock and InverclydeLabaye
Mrs Llin GoldingNewcastle-under-LymeLabaye
Mrs Eileen GordonRomfordLabaye
Mr Kelvin HopkinsLuton NorthLabaye
Dr Lynne JonesBirmingham, Selly OakLabaye
Mr Alan KeenFeltham and HestonLabaye
Mr David LepperBrighton, PavilionLabaye
Mr Terry LewisWorsleyLabaye
Mrs Alice MahonHalifaxLabaye
Dr John MarekWrexhamLabaye
Mr John McDonnellHayes and HarlingtonLabaye
Mr Bill MichieSheffield, HeeleyLabtellaye
Mr Gordon PrenticePendleLabaye
Mr Gwyn ProsserDoverLabaye
Mr Martin SalterReading WestLabaye
Mr Alan SimpsonNottingham SouthLabaye
Mr Dennis SkinnerBolsoverLabaye
Mr Llew SmithBlaenau GwentLabaye
Dr Gavin StrangEdinburgh East and MusselburghLabaye
Mr David TaylorNorth West LeicestershireLabaye
Dr Desmond TurnerBrighton, KemptownLabaye
Mr Robert WareingLiverpool, West DerbyLabaye
Mrs Betty WilliamsConwyLabaye
Mr David WinnickWalsall NorthLabaye
Mr Mike WoodBatley and SpenLabtellaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive