Election of Speaker — 23 Oct 2000

Mr Kenneth Clarke MP, Rushcliffe voted in the minority (Aye).

I beg to move, as an amendment to the Question, to leave out "Mr. Michael J. Martin" and insert instead thereof "Mrs. Gwyneth Dunwoody".

Before I start the substantive part of my speech, may I add my tribute to Speaker Boothroyd's term of office? She took charge of the House at a most difficult time for a Speaker, when televising of proceedings had recently started and there were difficult Parliaments. She carried out that duty with enormous skill and capacity.

imperturbable good temper, tact, patience and urbanity.

Question put, That the amendment be made:--

The House divided: Ayes 170, Noes 341.

Historical Hansard | Online Hansard |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con23 85 (+1 tell)068.1%
DUP0 1033.3%
Ind1 20100.0%
Ind Lab0 10100.0%
Lab274 (+2 tell) 71 (+1 tell)084.1%
LDem36 2080.9%
PC2 1075.0%
SDLP1 0033.3%
SNP3 2083.3%
UKUP0 10100.0%
UUP1 4055.6%
Total:341 170079.1%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Sir Paul BeresfordMole ValleyConno
Mr Peter BottomleyWorthing WestConno
Mr David CurrySkipton and RiponConno
Mr Stephen DorrellCharnwoodConno
Mr Edward GarnierHarboroughConno
Mr Nick GibbBognor Regis and LittlehamptonConno
Mr Damian GreenAshfordConno
Mr John GreenwayRyedaleConno
Mr John GummerSuffolk CoastalConno
Sir Archie HamiltonEpsom and EwellConno
Mr Michael HeseltineHenleyConno
Mr Peter LuffMid WorcestershireConno
Mr John MacGregorSouth NorfolkConno
Mr John MaplesStratford-on-AvonConno
Dr Brian MawhinneyNorth West CambridgeshireConno
Mr Richard OttawayCroydon SouthConno
Mr David PriorNorth NorfolkConno
Mr Gary StreeterSouth West DevonConno
Mr Teddy TaylorRochford and Southend EastConno
Mr Andrew TyrieChichesterConno
Mr Nigel WatersonEastbourneConno
Mr Bowen WellsHertford and StortfordConno
Mr John WilkinsonRuislip - NorthwoodConno
Miss Diane AbbottHackney North and Stoke NewingtonLabaye
Mr Stuart BellMiddlesbroughLabaye
Mr Andrew BennettDenton and ReddishLabaye
Mr Harold BestLeeds North WestLabaye
Mr Ben ChapmanWirral SouthLabaye
Mr David ChaytorBury NorthLabaye
Ms Helen ClarkPeterboroughLabaye
Mr Tony ClarkeNorthampton SouthLabaye
Mr Jeremy CorbynIslington NorthLabaye
Mr Jim CousinsNewcastle upon Tyne CentralLabaye
Mr Tom CoxTootingLabaye
Mrs Ann CryerKeighleyLabaye
Mr John CummingsEasingtonLabaye
Mr Tam DalyellLinlithgowLabaye
Mr Ian DavidsonGlasgow PollokLabaye
Mr Denzil DaviesLlanelliLabaye
Mr Terry DavisBirmingham, Hodge HillLabaye
Mr Brian H DonohoeCunninghame SouthLabaye
Mrs Gwyneth DunwoodyCrewe and NantwichLabaye
Mrs Louise EllmanLiverpool, RiversideLabaye
Mr Frank FieldBirkenheadLabaye
Mr Mark FisherStoke-on-Trent CentralLabaye
Mr Derek FosterBishop AucklandLabaye
Mr Sam GalbraithStrathkelvin and BearsdenLabaye
Mr Mike GapesIlford SouthLabaye
Mr Bruce GeorgeWalsall SouthLabaye
Dr Norman GodmanGreenock and InverclydeLabaye
Mrs Llin GoldingNewcastle-under-LymeLabaye
Ms Jane GriffithsReading EastLabaye
Mr Peter HainNeathLabaye
Ms Patricia HewittLeicester WestLabaye
Ms Kate HoeyVauxhallLabaye
Mr Kelvin HopkinsLuton NorthLabaye
Mrs Joan HumbleBlackpool North and FleetwoodLabaye
Ms Helen JonesWarrington NorthLabtellaye
Ms Jenny JonesWolverhampton South WestLabaye
Mr Jon Owen JonesCardiff CentralLabaye
Dr Lynne JonesBirmingham, Selly OakLabaye
Mr David KidneyStaffordLabaye
Mr Robert Marshall-AndrewsMedwayLabaye
Mr John McDonnellHayes and HarlingtonLabaye
Mr Tony McWalterHemel HempsteadLabaye
Mr Andrew MillerEllesmere Port and NestonLabaye
Mr Austin MitchellGreat GrimsbyLabaye
Sir John MorrisAberavonLabaye
Dr Mo MowlamRedcarLabaye
Mr Chris MullinSunderland SouthLabaye
Mr Denis MurphyWansbeckLabaye
Dr Doug NaysmithBristol North WestLabaye
Mr Edward O'HaraKnowsley SouthLabaye
Mr Peter PikeBurnleyLabaye
Mr Raymond PowellOgmoreLabaye
Mr Gordon PrenticePendleLabaye
Mr Jeff RookerBirmingham, Perry BarrLabaye
Mr Brian SedgemoreHackney South and ShoreditchLabaye
Mr Robert SheldonAshton-under-LyneLabaye
Ms Debra ShipleyStourbridgeLabaye
Mr Alan SimpsonNottingham SouthLabaye
Mr Dennis SkinnerBolsoverLabaye
Mr John SmithVale of GlamorganLabaye
Mr Llew SmithBlaenau GwentLabaye
Mr George StevensonStoke-on-Trent SouthLabaye
Mr Jack StrawBlackburnLabaye
Mr Graham StringerManchester, BlackleyLabaye
Ms Dari TaylorStockton SouthLabaye
Ms Joan WalleyStoke-on-Trent NorthLabaye
Mr Robert WareingLiverpool, West DerbyLabaye
Mr Malcolm WicksCroydon NorthLabaye
Mr Alan WilliamsSwansea WestLabaye
Mrs Betty WilliamsConwyLabaye
Dr Tony WrightCannock ChaseLabaye
Mr Derek WyattSittingbourne and SheppeyLabaye
Dr Vincent CableTwickenhamLDemaye
Mr David ChidgeyEastleighLDemaye
Mr Elfyn LlwydMeirionnydd Nant ConwyPCaye
Ms Roseanna CunninghamPerthSNPaye
Mr Alasdair MorganGalloway and Upper NithsdaleSNPaye
Mr William ThompsonWest TyroneUUPno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive