Election of Speaker — 23 Oct 2000

Mr Kenneth Clarke MP, Rushcliffe voted in the minority (Aye).

I beg to move, as an amendment to the Question, to leave out "Mr. Michael J. Martin" and insert instead thereof "Mr. Menzies Campbell".

In proposing the name of Ming Campbell, I realise that I am breaking the tradition by nominating a member of a minority party. As my right hon. Friend the Member for Manchester, Gorton (Mr. Kaufman) pointed out in his letter to The Times last week, however, there is no sufficiently clear tradition to tie the House to any course of action.

Question put, That the amendment be made:--

The House divided: Ayes 98, Noes 381.

Historical Hansard | Online Hansard |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con80 11056.9%
DUP1 0033.3%
Ind2 10100.0%
Ind Lab1 00100.0%
Lab289 (+2 tell) 44080.9%
LDem0 40 (+2 tell)089.4%
PC3 10100.0%
SNP4 0066.7%
UUP1 1022.2%
Total:381 98074.7%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Mr Kenneth ClarkeRushcliffeConaye
Mr Quentin DaviesGrantham and StamfordConaye
Sir Peter EmeryEast DevonConaye
Sir Geoffrey Johnson SmithWealdenConaye
Mr Peter LilleyHitchin and HarpendenConaye
Sir Peter LloydFarehamConaye
Mr John MajorHuntingdonConaye
Mr Michael MatesEast HampshireConaye
Mr Ian TaylorEsher and WaltonConaye
Mr Andrew TyrieChichesterConaye
Mr Peter ViggersGosportConaye
Mr Graham AllenNottingham NorthLabaye
Ms Hilary ArmstrongNorth West DurhamLabaye
Mr Nigel BeardBexleyheath and CrayfordLabaye
Miss Margaret BeckettDerby SouthLabaye
Mr David BlunkettSheffield, BrightsideLabaye
Mr Ben BradshawExeterLabaye
Mr Dale Campbell-SavoursWorkingtonLabaye
Ms Helen ClarkPeterboroughLabaye
Mr Charles ClarkeNorwich SouthLabaye
Mr Ian DavidsonGlasgow PollokLabaye
Mr John DenhamSouthampton, ItchenLabaye
Mr Frank FieldBirkenheadLabaye
Mr Mark FisherStoke-on-Trent CentralLabaye
Ms Lorna FitzsimonsRochdaleLabaye
Mr Paul FlynnNewport WestLabaye
Mr Sam GalbraithStrathkelvin and BearsdenLabaye
Mr Bruce GeorgeWalsall SouthLabaye
Dr Norman GodmanGreenock and InverclydeLabaye
Ms Jane GriffithsReading EastLabaye
Mr John GroganSelbyLabaye
Mr Alan HowarthNewport EastLabaye
Ms Sally KeebleNorthampton NorthLabaye
Ms Ruth KellyBolton WestLabaye
Ms Tess KinghamGloucesterLabaye
Dr Stephen LadymanSouth ThanetLabaye
Mrs Helen LiddellAirdrie and ShottsLabaye
Mr David LockWyre ForestLabaye
Mr Calum MacDonaldNa h-Eileanan an IarLabaye
Mr Paul MarsdenShrewsbury and AtchamLabaye
Mr Austin MitchellGreat GrimsbyLabaye
Dr Lewis MoonieKirkcaldyLabaye
Mr Martin O'NeillOchilLabaye
Dr Nick PalmerBroxtoweLabaye
Mr Ian PearsonDudley SouthLabaye
Mr Kerry PollardSt AlbansLabaye
Mr Greg PopeHyndburnLabaye
Mr Giles RadiceNorth DurhamLabaye
Mr Chris SmithIslington South and FinsburyLabaye
Mr Paul StinchcombeWellingboroughLabaye
Mr Peter Temple-MorrisLeominsterwhilst Labaye
Mr Paddy TippingSherwoodLabaye
Dr George TurnerNorth West NorfolkLabaye
Mr Stephen TwiggEnfield, SouthgateLabaye
Mr Derek WyattSittingbourne and SheppeyLabaye
Mr Dafydd WigleyCaernarfonPCaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive