Stem Cell Research — 31 Oct 2000

Mr Michael Fabricant MP, Lichfield voted in the minority (Aye).

I beg to move,

That leave be given to bring in a Bill to amend the Human Fertilisation and Embryology Act 1990 to allow the use of early embryonic tissue for the purposes of research into the development of regenerative therapies.

The softest road to hell is the gradual one, the gentle slope, soft underfoot, without sudden turnings, without sign posts.

Question put, pursuant to Standing Order No. 23 (Motions for leave to bring in Bills and nomination of Select Committees at commencement of public business): --

The House divided: Ayes 83, Noes 175.

Historical Hansard | Online Hansard |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con81 (+1 tell) 13 (+1 tell)060.0%
Ind1 0033.3%
Lab73 (+1 tell) 54 (+1 tell)031.2%
LDem17 15068.1%
PC0 1025.0%
UUP3 0033.3%
Total:175 83041.1%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Mr John BercowBuckinghamConaye
Sir Paul BeresfordMole ValleyConaye
Mr Crispin BluntReigateContellaye
Mr Tim BoswellDaventryConaye
Mr Quentin DaviesGrantham and StamfordConaye
Mr Michael FabricantLichfieldConaye
Mr Eric ForthBromley and ChislehurstConaye
Mrs Teresa GormanBillericayConaye
Mr Robert JacksonWantageConaye
Mr Andrew LansleySouth CambridgeshireConaye
Mr Laurence RobertsonTewkesburyConaye
Mr Ian TaylorEsher and WaltonConaye
Mr David TredinnickBosworthConaye
Mr Andrew TyrieChichesterConaye
Mr Nick AingerCarmarthen West and South PembrokeshireLabaye
Mr Joe AshtonBassetlawLabaye
Mr Tony BanksWest HamLabaye
Mr Harry BarnesNorth East DerbyshireLabaye
Mr Kevin BarronRother ValleyLabaye
Mr Nigel BeardBexleyheath and CrayfordLabaye
Miss Anne BeggAberdeen SouthLabaye
Mr Hilary BennLeeds CentralLabaye
Mrs Liz BlackmanErewashLabaye
Mrs Anne CampbellCambridgeLabaye
Mr Michael ClaphamBarnsley West and PenistoneLabaye
Ms Ann ClwydCynon ValleyLabaye
Mr Tam DalyellLinlithgowLabaye
Mrs Valerie DaveyBristol WestLabaye
Mr Terry DavisBirmingham, Hodge HillLabaye
Mr Brian H DonohoeCunninghame SouthLabaye
Ms Julia DrownSouth SwindonLabaye
Mrs Gwyneth DunwoodyCrewe and NantwichLabaye
Mr Clive EffordElthamLabaye
Mrs Louise EllmanLiverpool, RiversideLabaye
Mr Bill EtheringtonSunderland NorthLabaye
Mr Paul FlynnNewport WestLabaye
Mrs Barbara FollettStevenageLabaye
Mr Mike GapesIlford SouthLabaye
Dr Ian GibsonNorwich NorthLabtellaye
Dr Norman GodmanGreenock and InverclydeLabaye
Ms Jane GriffithsReading EastLabaye
Mr Patrick HallBedfordLabaye
Mr Doug HendersonNewcastle upon Tyne NorthLabaye
Dr Brian IddonBolton South EastLabaye
Mr Eric IllsleyBarnsley CentralLabaye
Mr Jon Owen JonesCardiff CentralLabaye
Dr Lynne JonesBirmingham, Selly OakLabaye
Mr Martyn JonesClwyd SouthLabaye
Miss Judy MallaberAmber ValleyLabaye
Mr John MaxtonGlasgow CathcartLabaye
Mr John McDonnellHayes and HarlingtonLabaye
Mr Bill MichieSheffield, HeeleyLabaye
Mr Andrew MillerEllesmere Port and NestonLabaye
Ms Kali MountfordColne ValleyLabaye
Dr Doug NaysmithBristol North WestLabaye
Mr Martin O'NeillOchilLabaye
Mr James PlaskittWarwick and LeamingtonLabaye
Mr Gordon PrenticePendleLabaye
Mr Allan RogersRhonddaLabaye
Mr Mohammad SarwarGlasgow GovanLabaye
Mr Malcolm SavidgeAberdeen NorthLabaye
Mr Brian SedgemoreHackney South and ShoreditchLabaye
Mr Barry SheermanHuddersfieldLabaye
Mr Robert SheldonAshton-under-LyneLabaye
Mr Llew SmithBlaenau GwentLabaye
Dr Phyllis StarkeyMilton Keynes South WestLabaye
Mr Peter Temple-MorrisLeominsterwhilst Labaye
Mr Mark ToddSouth DerbyshireLabaye
Dr Desmond TurnerBrighton, KemptownLabaye
Mr Paddy AshdownYeovilLDemaye
Mr Tom BrakeCarshalton and WallingtonLDemaye
Dr Peter BrandIsle of WightLDemaye
Mr Malcolm BruceGordonLDemaye
Mr David ChidgeyEastleighLDemaye
Mr Don FosterBathLDemaye
Ms Sandra GidleyRomseyLDemaye
Dr Evan HarrisOxford West and AbingdonLDemaye
Mr Paul KeetchHerefordLDemaye
Mr Mark OatenWinchesterLDemaye
Mr Lembit ÖpikMontgomeryshireLDemaye
Mr David RendelNewburyLDemaye
Mr Bob RussellColchesterLDemaye
Sir Robert SmithWest Aberdeenshire and KincardineLDemaye
Mr Matthew TaylorTruro and St AustellLDemaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive