Transport Bill — 28 Nov 2000

Mr John Randall MP, Uxbridge voted in the minority (Teller for the Noes).

Commons reasons for insisting on disagreeing to certain Lords amendments and Government amendments in lieu, considered.

I beg to move, That this House insists on its disagreement to Lords amendments Nos. 27 to 29.

Mr. Speaker:

With this it will be convenient to discuss Government amendments (a) to (c) in lieu.

Moreover, we had balloons stating, "Our air is not for sale."--[ Official Report, House of Lords , 27 November 2000; Vol. 619, c. 1216.]

is designed to give the Government time to explain more fully

a public consultation on our White Paper after we had announced the proposal for the partial sale of NATS in June 1998. A Statement was made following that consultation and there has been a Select Committee inquiry. Therefore, there has been ample time for public scrutiny of the policy and of its detail.--[ Official Report, House of Lords , 27 November 2000; Vol. 619, c. 1209.]

We will search out at every turn new ways and new ideas to tackle the new issues . . . how to put the public and private sector together in partnership to give us the infrastructure and transport system we need.

The massive growth in flights places a growing burden on ageing Air Traffic Control equipment. To help improve safety, the Labour government intends to introduce a Public Private Partnership to bring in over £1 billion investment over the next 10 years.

Question put:--

The House divided: Ayes 305, Noes 217.

Historical Hansard | Online Hansard |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con0 124 (+2 tell)078.8%
Ind0 1050.0%
Lab305 (+2 tell) 44084.4%
LDem0 43091.5%
PC0 2050.0%
SNP0 1016.7%
UUP0 2022.2%
Total:305 217081.7%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Miss Diane AbbottHackney North and Stoke NewingtonLabno
Mr David ChaytorBury NorthLabno
Mr Michael ClaphamBarnsley West and PenistoneLabno
Mr Michael ConnartyFalkirk EastLabno
Mr Frank CookStockton NorthLabno
Mr Jeremy CorbynIslington NorthLabno
Mrs Ann CryerKeighleyLabno
Mr John CryerHornchurchLabno
Mr Tam DalyellLinlithgowLabno
Mr Ian DavidsonGlasgow PollokLabno
Mr Denzil DaviesLlanelliLabno
Mr Terry DavisBirmingham, Hodge HillLabno
Mr Andrew DismoreHendonLabno
Mr Jim DobbinHeywood and MiddletonLabno
Mrs Gwyneth DunwoodyCrewe and NantwichLabno
Mr Frank FieldBirkenheadLabno
Mr Neil GerrardWalthamstowLabno
Dr Norman GodmanGreenock and InverclydeLabno
Mrs Eileen GordonRomfordLabno
Mr Kelvin HopkinsLuton NorthLabno
Ms Jenny JonesWolverhampton South WestLabno
Dr Lynne JonesBirmingham, Selly OakLabno
Mr Peter KilfoyleLiverpool, WaltonLabno
Mr David LepperBrighton, PavilionLabno
Mr Terry LewisWorsleyLabno
Mrs Alice MahonHalifaxLabno
Mr Robert Marshall-AndrewsMedwayLabno
Ms Chris McCaffertyCalder ValleyLabno
Mr John McDonnellHayes and HarlingtonLabno
Mr Kevin McNamaraKingston upon Hull NorthLabno
Mr Bill MichieSheffield, HeeleyLabno
Mr Gordon PrenticePendleLabno
Mr Ted RowlandsMerthyr Tydfil and RhymneyLabno
Mr Martin SalterReading WestLabno
Mr Jonathan R ShawChatham and AylesfordLabno
Mr Alan SimpsonNottingham SouthLabno
Mr Dennis SkinnerBolsoverLabno
Mr Llew SmithBlaenau GwentLabno
Dr Gavin StrangEdinburgh East and MusselburghLabno
Mr David TaylorNorth West LeicestershireLabno
Dr Desmond TurnerBrighton, KemptownLabno
Dr Rudi VisFinchley and Golders GreenLabno
Mr Robert WareingLiverpool, West DerbyLabno
Mr David WinnickWalsall NorthLabno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive