Members' Allowances, Insurance &c. — Members' Pay (Money Resolution) — 5 Jul 2001 at 15:52

Mr Jim Murphy MP, East Renfrewshire voted in the minority (No).

This division was on an amendment, (e) which said, "The House of Commons Additional Costs Allowance should be increased by the same proportion as that proposed for the House of Lords Overnight Allowance under Recommendation 16 of the Review Body on Senior Salaries Report No. 48.'."

The amendment had been moved by backbench Labour MP Clive Betts who said in his speech that this would mean a 42% increase.

The division was a "House of Commons matter" and therefore subject to a free vote.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con57 12042.1%
DUP0 3060.0%
Ind0 10100.0%
Lab157 (+2 tell) 76 (+2 tell)057.7%
LDem10 20057.7%
PC2 0050.0%
SNP3 20100.0%
UUP0 3050.0%
Total:229 117054.0%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Mr Peter AtkinsonHexhamConno
Mr Peter BottomleyWorthing WestConno
Mr Julian BrazierCanterburyConno
Mr Peter DuncanGalloway and Upper NithsdaleConno
Mr Paul GoodmanWycombeConno
Mr David Heathcoat-AmoryWellsConno
Mr Mark HobanFarehamConno
Mr Oliver LetwinWest DorsetConno
Mr John RandallUxbridgeConno
Mr Hugh RobertsonFaversham and Mid KentConno
Mr Desmond SwayneNew Forest WestConno
Sir George YoungNorth West HampshireConno
Miss Diane AbbottHackney North and Stoke NewingtonLabno
Mr Nick AingerCarmarthen West and South PembrokeshireLabno
Ms Hilary ArmstrongNorth West DurhamLabno
Mr Adrian BaileyWest Bromwich WestLabno
Miss Margaret BeckettDerby SouthLabno
Miss Anne BeggAberdeen SouthLabno
Dr Roger BerryKingswoodLabno
Ms Hazel BlearsSalfordLabno
Mr Peter BradleyThe WrekinLabno
Mr Kevin BrennanCardiff WestLabno
Mr Chris BryantRhonddaLabno
Mrs Anne CampbellCambridgeLabno
Mr Ivor CaplinHoveLabno
Mr Charles ClarkeNorwich SouthLabno
Mr Vernon CoakerGedlingLabno
Mr Robin CookLivingstonLabno
Ms Yvette CooperPontefract and CastlefordLabno
Mr Wayne DavidCaerphillyLabno
Mr Hilton DawsonLancaster and WyreLabno
Mr Parmjit DhandaGloucesterLabno
Mr David DrewStroudLabno
Ms Julia DrownSouth SwindonLabno
Ms Angela EagleWallaseyLabno
Ms Maria EagleLiverpool, GarstonLabno
Mr Jim FitzpatrickPoplar and Canning TownLabno
Mr Hywel FrancisAberavonLabno
Mr David HansonDelynLabno
Mr Dai HavardMerthyr Tydfil and RhymneyLabno
Mr John HealeyWentworthLabno
Mr John HeppellNottingham EastLabtellno
Mr Keith HillStreathamLabno
Mrs Margaret HodgeBarkingLabno
Ms Beverley HughesStretford and UrmstonLabno
Ms Sally KeebleNorthampton NorthLabno
Ms Ruth KellyBolton WestLabno
Mr Fraser KempHoughton and Washington EastLabno
Mr Piara S KhabraEaling, SouthallLabno
Mr David KidneyStaffordLabno
Mr Andy KingRugby and KenilworthLabno
Mr Jim KnightSouth DorsetLabno
Mr Mark LazarowiczEdinburgh North and LeithLabno
Mr David LepperBrighton, PavilionLabno
Mr Ivan LewisBury SouthLabno
Miss Judy MallaberAmber ValleyLabno
Mr Paul MarsdenShrewsbury and Atchamwhilst Labno
Mr Eric MartlewCarlisleLabno
Mr Thomas McAvoyGlasgow RutherglenLabno
Mrs Anne McGuireStirlingLabno
Mrs Rosemary McKennaCumbernauld and KilsythLabno
Mr Michael MeacherOldham West and RoytonLabno
Mr Chris MullinSunderland SouthLabno
Mr Jim MurphyEast RenfrewshireLabno
Mr Mike O'BrienNorth WarwickshireLabno
Ms Sandra OsborneAyrLabno
Dr Nick PalmerBroxtoweLabno
Mr Ian PearsonDudley SouthLabno
Mr Chris PondGraveshamLabno
Mr Gordon PrenticePendleLabno
Mr Gwyn ProsserDoverLabno
Mr Jonathan R ShawChatham and AylesfordLabno
Ms Clare ShortBirmingham, LadywoodLabno
Mr Dennis SkinnerBolsoverLabno
Ms Angela SmithBasildonLabno
Ms Jacqui SmithRedditchLabno
Mr Paul StinchcombeWellingboroughLabno
Dr Howard StoateDartfordLabno
Mr Jack StrawBlackburnLabno
Mr Graham StringerManchester, BlackleyLabtellno
Ms Gisela StuartBirmingham, EdgbastonLabno
Mr Gerry SutcliffeBradford SouthLabno
Mr Stephen TimmsEast HamLabno
Mr Mark ToddSouth DerbyshireLabno
Mr Stephen TwiggEnfield, SouthgateLabno
Mr Bill TynanHamilton SouthLabno
Ms Claire WardWatfordLabno
Mr Dave WattsSt Helens NorthLabno
Ms Rosie WintertonDoncaster CentralLabno
Mr Phil WoolasOldham East and SaddleworthLabno
Mr John BarrettEdinburgh WestLDemaye
Mr Tom BrakeCarshalton and WallingtonLDemaye
Mr Malcolm BruceGordonLDemaye
Mr Edward DaveyKingston and SurbitonLDemaye
Ms Sue DoughtyGuildfordLDemaye
Mr Andrew GeorgeSt IvesLDemaye
Mr Paul HolmesChesterfieldLDemaye
Mr Norman LambNorth NorfolkLDemaye
Mr Mark OatenWinchesterLDemaye
Mr David RendelNewburyLDemaye
Mr Angus RobertsonMoraySNPno
Mr Michael WeirAngusSNPno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive