Members' Pay (Expression of Opinion) — 5 Jul 2001 at 16:14

Mr Dai Havard MP, Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney voted with the majority (Aye).

Question accordingly negatived.

Main Question put:-

The House divided: Ayes 276, Noes 42.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con42 3027.4%
Ind0 10100.0%
Lab207 (+2 tell) 28 (+2 tell)058.2%
LDem24 5055.8%
SNP0 50100.0%
UUP3 0050.0%
Total:276 42050.4%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Mr Peter DuncanGalloway and Upper NithsdaleConno
Mr Oliver LetwinWest DorsetConno
Mr Desmond SwayneNew Forest WestConno
Miss Diane AbbottHackney North and Stoke NewingtonLabno
Mr John AustinErith and ThamesmeadLabno
Mr Harry BarnesNorth East DerbyshireLabtellno
Dr Roger BerryKingswoodLabno
Mr Kevin BrennanCardiff WestLabno
Mr Tony ClarkeNorthampton SouthLabno
Mr Jeremy CorbynIslington NorthLabno
Mrs Valerie DaveyBristol WestLabno
Mr David DrewStroudLabno
Ms Julia DrownSouth SwindonLabno
Mr Jim FitzpatrickPoplar and Canning TownLabno
Mr Neil GerrardWalthamstowLabno
Dr Ian GibsonNorwich NorthLabno
Mr Kelvin HopkinsLuton NorthLabno
Dr Lynne JonesBirmingham, Selly OakLabno
Mr Piara S KhabraEaling, SouthallLabno
Ms Oona KingBethnal Green and BowLabno
Mr Paul MarsdenShrewsbury and Atchamwhilst Labno
Mr Chris MullinSunderland SouthLabno
Mr Mike O'BrienNorth WarwickshireLabno
Dr Nick PalmerBroxtoweLabno
Mr Ian PearsonDudley SouthLabno
Mr Kerry PollardSt AlbansLabno
Mr Martin SalterReading WestLabno
Mr Phil SawfordKetteringLabno
Mr Dennis SkinnerBolsoverLabno
Mr Paul StinchcombeWellingboroughLabno
Mr Mark ToddSouth DerbyshireLabtellno
Mr Phil WoolasOldham East and SaddleworthLabno
Mr Anthony D WrightGreat YarmouthLabno
Mr Richard AllanSheffield, HallamLDemno
Mr Paul HolmesChesterfieldLDemno
Mr David RendelNewburyLDemno
Dr Jenny TongeRichmond ParkLDemno
Professor Steve WebbNorthavonLDemno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive