[S1M-2354] Decision Time — 25 Oct 2001 at 17:05

Alex Fergusson MP, South of Scotland voted in the minority (No).

This looks like the vote on S1M-2354

The description in the bulletin on 2001-10-24 is:

*S1M-2354 Allan Wilson: National Cultural Strategy - One Year On—That the Parliament welcomes the first report on the implementation of the National Cultural Strategy; notes the progress that has been made in the key priorities of the strategy and the actions that are proposed for further implementation; recognises the vital contribution of many agencies, individuals and bodies to ensuring that Scotland’s cultural life matches the aspirations of all Scotland’s people; believes in particular that culture has a vital role to play in delivering social justice throughout Scotland, in our schools, in lifelong learning and in the further development of our tourism industry, and therefore urges all relevant agencies, individuals and bodies to work effectively together in partnership to ensure that the potential of Scotland’s cultural life is fully realised at home and proudly promoted abroad, further encouraging the continuing pursuit and celebration of excellence and the widening of opportunities to participate in the development of Scotland’s cultural life.

You can search for this motion (S1M-2354) on TheyWorkForYou

Text Introducing Division:

The ninth question is, that motion S1M-2354, in the name of Allan Wilson, on the national cultural strategy, be agreed to. Are we agreed?


There will be a division.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)AbstentionsTurnout
Con0 18094.7%
Green0 01100.0%
Independent1 20100.0%
Lab51 0092.7%
LDem13 0081.3%
SNP0 28084.8%
SSP0 01100.0%
Total:65 48289.8%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive