Human Reproductive Cloning Bill[Lords] — 29 Nov 2001 at 18:46

Mr Mark Hoban MP, Fareham voted in the minority (Aye).

I beg to move, That the Bill be now read a Second time.

As the House will know, the other place passed the Bill without amendment on Monday.

I beg to move,

"That this House declines to give a Second Reading to the Human Reproductive Cloning Bill because it does not address the subject of therapeutic cloning; it does not prevent the creation of embryos by cell nuclear replacement; it does not define terms central to the Bill, such as 'fertilisation' and 'embryo'; and it fails to address the wider issues raised by the prospect of the creation of a cloned human being."

Question put, That the amendment be made:-

The House divided: Ayes 49, Noes 288.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con21 42 (+1 tell)039.0%
Ind1 00100.0%
Lab244 (+2 tell) 2 (+1 tell)060.6%
LDem14 5036.5%
PC4 00100.0%
SNP4 0080.0%
Total:288 49053.5%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Mr John BercowBuckinghamConno
Mr John ButterfillBournemouth WestConno
Mr David CameronWitneyConno
Mr Kenneth ClarkeRushcliffeConno
Mr Michael FabricantLichfieldConno
Mr Eric ForthBromley and ChislehurstConno
Mr Edward GarnierHarboroughConno
Mr Robert KeySalisburyConno
Mr Greg KnightEast YorkshireConno
Mrs Eleanor LaingEpping ForestConno
Mr Andrew LansleySouth CambridgeshireConno
Mr Andrew MacKayBracknellConno
Mr David MacleanPenrith and The BorderConno
Mrs Anne McIntoshVale of YorkConno
Dr Andrew MurrisonWestburyConno
Mr Laurence RobertsonTewkesburyConno
Mr John StanleyTonbridge and MallingConno
Mr Robert SymsPooleConno
Mr Ian TaylorEsher and WaltonConno
Mr Andrew TyrieChichesterConno
Mr Peter ViggersGosportConno
Mr Jim DobbinHeywood and MiddletonLabaye
Mr David DrewStroudLabaye
Mr Paul MarsdenShrewsbury and Atchamwhilst Labtellaye
Mr Brian CotterWeston-Super-MareLDemaye
Mr John PughSouthportLDemaye
Mr Andrew StunellHazel GroveLDemaye
Mr Paul TylerNorth CornwallLDemaye
Mr Phil WillisHarrogate and KnaresboroughLDemaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive