Education Bill — Abolish selection by aptitude in state schools — rejected — 6 Feb 2002 at 22:45

Mr John Taylor MP, Solihull voted with the majority (No).

The majority No voters rejected a new clause[1] for the Education Bill.The clause would have removed the ability of state schools to select pupils by aptitude (except if the selection arrangements predated the 1997-8 school year and had been in force continuously since). However, the amendment was defeated.

The main aims of the Education Bill were to[2]:

  • Allow schools to exempt themselves from laws which prevented them from innovating. However, this is dependent on the Secretary of State's approval.
  • Give good schools the option of qualifying for greater flexibility in the National Curriculum and teachers' pay.
  • Allow schools to join together in a federation under a single governing body.
  • Further regulate school admissions, exclusions and attendance policies.
  • Give the Secretary of State further powers to intervene in failing schools.
  • Introduce a new regulatory regime for independent schools.


Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con137 0083.5%
DUP3 0060.0%
Lab278 (+2 tell) 18173.1%
LDem0 40 (+2 tell)079.2%
PC0 3075.0%
UUP1 0016.7%
Total:419 61175.7%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Mr Andrew BennettDenton and ReddishLabaye
Mr Ronnie CampbellBlyth ValleyLabaye
Mr David ChaytorBury NorthLabaye
Mr Michael ClaphamBarnsley West and PenistoneLabaye
Ms Ann ClwydCynon ValleyLabaye
Mr Jeremy CorbynIslington NorthLabaye
Mrs Janet DeanBurtonLabaye
Mr David HinchliffeWakefieldLabaye
Mr Eric IllsleyBarnsley CentralLabaye
Dr Lynne JonesBirmingham, Selly OakLabaye
Mr Terry LewisWorsleyLabaye
Mrs Alice MahonHalifaxLabaye
Mr John McDonnellHayes and HarlingtonLabaye
Mr Brian SedgemoreHackney South and ShoreditchLabaye
Mr Alan SimpsonNottingham SouthLabaye
Mr Dennis SkinnerBolsoverLabaye
Mr David TaylorNorth West LeicestershireLabaye
Mr Robert WareingLiverpool, West DerbyLabaye
Mr Kelvin HopkinsLuton NorthLabboth

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive