Hunting with Dogs: Self-Supervision Scheme — 18 Mar 2002 at 21:50

Mr Wayne David MP, Caerphilly voted with the majority (No).

The Aye-voters failed to pass the motion:

This House considers that arrangements for the supervision of the hunting of wild mammals with dogs should be given statutory effect by provision similar to Schedule 1 to the Hunting Bill as introduced into the Commons last session.

The rejected schedule would allowed hunting to continue under a self-supervision scheme.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con7 138088.4%
DUP0 2040.0%
Ind1 00100.0%
Lab355 (+2 tell) 0 (+2 tell)087.6%
LDem34 10083.0%
PC3 10100.0%
UUP1 3066.7%
Total:401 154086.9%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Mr David AmessSouthend WestConno
Mr David AtkinsonBournemouth EastConno
Mr Michael FabricantLichfieldConno
Mr John RandallUxbridgeConno
Mr John TaylorSolihullConno
Mr Teddy TaylorRochford and Southend EastConno
Miss Ann WiddecombeMaidstone and The WealdConno
Mr John HeppellNottingham EastLab (minister)tellaye
Mr Tony McNultyHarrow EastLab (minister)tellaye
Mr Alan BeithBerwick-upon-TweedLDemaye
Mr Matthew GreenLudlowLDemaye
Mr Nick HarveyNorth DevonLDemaye
Mr Paul KeetchHerefordLDemaye
Mr Archy KirkwoodRoxburgh and BerwickshireLDemaye
Mr Michael MooreTweeddale, Ettrick and LauderdaleLDemaye
Sir Robert SmithWest Aberdeenshire and KincardineLDemaye
Viscount John ThursoCaithness, Sutherland and Easter RossLDemaye
Mr Paul TylerNorth CornwallLDemaye
Mr Roger WilliamsBrecon and RadnorshireLDemaye
Mr Elfyn LlwydMeirionnydd Nant ConwyPCaye
Lady Lady HermonNorth DownUUPno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive