Hunting with dogs: Ban — 19 Mar 2002 at 18:04

a free "indicative" vote to guide the Government on how to deal with the issue of hunting with dogs. Those voting "content" in this division were supporting a ban on hunting with dogs - in accordance with provision similar to Schedule 3 to the Hunting Bill as introduced in the Commons in Session 2000–01 [Bill 2].

Other votes covered the options of self-regulation of hunting and a licensing scheme. The House of Commons had held its own "indicative" votes the previous day.

Their Lordships divided: Contents, 74; Not-Contents, 331.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Not-Content)Minority (Content)Turnout
Bishop6 022.2%
Con170 (+1 tell) 177.8%
Green1 0100.0%
Ind Lab1 0100.0%
Lab43 (+1 tell) 60 (+1 tell)54.1%
LDem31 7 (+1 tell)59.1%
Other1 05.6%
UUP1 166.7%
Crossbench75 345.1%
Total:329 7257.5%

Rebel Voters - sorted by name

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Lord Acton Labno
Baroness Barker LDemaye
Lord Bernstein of CraigweilLabno
Baroness Blackstone Labno
Lord Borrie Labno
Lord Brennan Labno
Lord Brooke of AlverthorpeLabno
Lord Brookman Labno
Lord Brooks of TremorfaLabno
Lord Bruce of DoningtonLabno
Baroness Cohen of PimlicoLabno
Lord Davies of CoityLabno
Lord Dholakia LDemaye
Lord Donoughue Labno
Baroness Fookes Conaye
Baroness Golding Labno
Lord Gordon of StrathblaneLabno
Lord Grabiner Labno
Baroness Hamwee LDemaye
Lord Hardy of WathLabno
Baroness Harris of RichmondLDemaye
Baroness Hayman Labno
Lord Hogg of CumbernauldLabno
Lord Howie of TroonLabno
Lord Hunt of ChestertonLabno
Baroness Jeger Labno
Lord MacKenzie of CulkeinLabno
Lord Mackenzie of FramwellgateLabno
Baroness Mallalieu Labtellno
Lord Mason of BarnsleyLabno
Baroness McIntosh of HudnallLabno
Lord McNally LDemtellaye
Lord Mishcon Labno
Lord Parekh Labno
Lord Peston Labno
Lord Plant of HighfieldLabno
Lord Prys-Davies Labno
Lord Puttnam Labno
Lord Randall of St BudeauxLabno
Lord Rooker Labno
Lord Shutt of GreetlandLDemaye
Viscount Simon Labno
Lord Strabolgi Labno
Lord Taylor of BlackburnLabno
Lord Temple-Morris Labno
Lord Tope LDemaye
Lord Turnberg Labno
Baroness Turner of CamdenLabno
Baroness Walmsley LDemaye
Baroness Warwick of UndercliffeLabno
Baroness Wilkins Labno
Lord Williams of ElvelLabno
Lord Woolmer of LeedsLabno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive