Education Bill — Remove regulations concerning Annual Parents' Meetings — 14 May 2002 at 15:38

was absent

The majority Content voters passed an amendment[1] to the Education Bill. The vote removed subsection (2) of a clause entitled 'Annual Parents' Meetings'[2]. This subsection described how schools should conduct these types of meetings.

However, even though this subsection was removed in this vote a modified version of the subsection ended up becoming law when the Education Bill 2002 received Royal Assent on 24th July 2002. As you will see from this debate the Commons disagreed with the amendment that was passed in this particular division. The Commons then proposed an alternative amendment which the Lords agreed to.

The main aims of the Education Bill were to[3]:

  • Allow schools to exempt themselves from laws which prevented them from innovating. However, this is dependent on the Secretary of State's approval.
  • Give good schools the option of qualifying for greater flexibility in the National Curriculum and teachers' pay.
  • Allow schools to join together in a federation under a single governing body.
  • Further regulate school admissions, exclusions and attendance policies.
  • Give the Secretary of State further powers to intervene in failing schools.
  • Introduce a new regulatory regime for independent schools.


Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Content)Minority (Not-Content)Turnout
Bishop1 03.7%
Con81 (+2 tell) 037.6%
Crossbench13 611.0%
Green1 0100.0%
Independent Labour0 1100.0%
Lab0 109 (+2 tell)57.5%
LDem31 047.0%
Other0 16.3%
Total:127 11735.5%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Bhatia Crossbenchno
Boston of FavershamCrossbenchno
Hussey of North BradleyCrossbenchno
Moser Crossbenchno
Tenby Crossbenchno
Weatherill Crossbenchno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive