Adoption and Children Bill — [3rd Allotted Day] — Clause 131 — General interpretation, etc. — 20 May 2002 at 19:30

Ms Angela Smith MP, Basildon voted with the majority (No).

This amendment to the Adoption and Children Bill would have allowed unmarried heterosexual couples to adopt children. (Homosexual couples were specifically excluded.) The no-voters defeated this amendment.

The House divided: Ayes 174, Noes 301.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con0 127 (+2 tell)078.7%
DUP0 1020.0%
Ind0 10100.0%
Lab263 (+2 tell) 35273.7%
LDem32 4067.9%
PC4 00100.0%
UUP0 3050.0%
Total:299 171274.0%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Mr Stuart BellMiddlesbroughLabaye
Mr Joe BentonBootleLabaye
Mr Bob BlizzardWaveneyLabaye
Mr Ronnie CampbellBlyth ValleyLabaye
Mr Tom ClarkeCoatbridge and ChrystonLabaye
Mr Tony ColmanPutneyLabaye
Mr Michael ConnartyFalkirk EastLabaye
Mr Frank CookStockton NorthLabaye
Mr John CummingsEasingtonLabaye
Mr Tony CunninghamWorkingtonLabaye
Mr David DrewStroudLabaye
Mr David HamiltonMidlothianLabaye
Mr Stephen HepburnJarrowLabaye
Mr Jimmy HoodClydesdaleLabaye
Ms Ruth KellyBolton WestLabaye
Mr Andrew MacKinlayThurrockLabaye
Mr David MarshallGlasgow ShettlestonLabaye
Mr Eric MartlewCarlisleLabaye
Mr Thomas McAvoyGlasgow RutherglenLabaye
Mr John McFallDumbartonLabaye
Mr John McWilliamBlaydonLabaye
Mr George MudieLeeds EastLabaye
Mr Bill O'BrienNormantonLabaye
Mr Bill OlnerNuneatonLabaye
Mr Ian PearsonDudley SouthLabaye
Mrs Anne PickingEast LothianLabaye
Mr Stephen PoundEaling NorthLabaye
Mr Frank RoyMotherwell and WishawLabaye
Mr Malcolm SavidgeAberdeen NorthLabaye
Mr Jim SheridanWest RenfrewshireLabaye
Ms Geraldine SmithMorecambe and LunesdaleLabaye
Mr Gerry SteinbergCity of DurhamLabaye
Mr David TaylorNorth West LeicestershireLabaye
Mr Bill TynanHamilton SouthLabaye
Mr Dave WattsSt Helens NorthLabaye
Mr Brian H DonohoeCunninghame SouthLabboth
Mr Jimmy WrayGlasgow BailliestonLabboth
Mr Colin BreedSouth East CornwallLDemaye
Mr John BurnettTorridge and West DevonLDemaye
Mr John PughSouthportLDemaye
Professor Steve WebbNorthavonLDemaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive