Adoption and Children Bill — adoption only by married couples — accepted — 16 Oct 2002 at 18:38

was absent

The majority voted to state that, with respect to adoption by couples, only married couples would be allowed to adopt (single adoption was unaffected). It did this by adding the word "married" in various places throughout the Bill (this amendment was the first, and there were later consequential amendments agreed without vote as this one had been agreed with a vote).

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Content)Minority (Not-Content)Turnout
Bishop2 08.3%
Con118 (+2 tell) 758.0%
Crossbench45 2139.3%
Green1 0100.0%
Independent Labour1 0100.0%
Lab23 92 (+1 tell)60.1%
LDem0 40 (+1 tell)62.1%
Other1 06.7%
UUP3 0100.0%
Total:194 16051.9%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Biffen Conno
Brooke of Sutton MandevilleConno
Campbell of AllowayConno
Lucas Conno
Montagu of BeaulieuConno
Norton of LouthConno
St John of FawsleyConno
Best Crossbenchno
Brightman Crossbenchno
Condon Crossbenchno
Darcy de Knayth Crossbenchno
Donaldson of LymingtonCrossbenchno
Finlay of LlandaffCrossbenchno
Flowers Crossbenchno
Greengross Crossbenchno
Howarth of BrecklandCrossbenchno
Howe of IdlicoteCrossbenchno
Laming Crossbenchno
The of ListowelCrossbenchno
Lloyd of BerwickCrossbenchno
Marsh Crossbenchno
Patel Crossbenchno
Richardson of CalowCrossbenchno
Roll of IpsdenCrossbenchno
Saltoun of AbernethyCrossbenchno
The of SandwichCrossbenchno
Tanlaw Crossbenchno
Wright of RichmondCrossbenchno
Ahmed Labaye
Brookman Labaye
Bruce of DoningtonLabaye
Campbell-Savours Labaye
Davies of CoityLabaye
Dixon Labaye
Donoughue Labaye
Evans of ParksideLabaye
Hardy of WathLabaye
Hogg of CumbernauldLabaye
Islwyn Labaye
Kirkhill Labaye
Lofthouse of PontefractLabaye
Mason of BarnsleyLabaye
Milner of LeedsLabaye
Mishcon Labaye
Orme Labaye
Patel of BlackburnLabaye
Randall of St BudeauxLabaye
Simon Labaye
Strabolgi Labaye
Uddin Labaye
Walker of DoncasterLabaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive