Modernisation of the House of Commons — 29 Oct 2002 at 22:00

Dr Richard Taylor MP, Wyre Forest voted with the majority (No).

Question put, That the amendment be made:-

The House divided: Ayes 94, Noes 441.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con39 85076.1%
DUP2 0040.0%
Ind1 00100.0%
Lab337 (+2 tell) 7 (+2 tell)084.9%
LDem48 2094.3%
PC4 00100.0%
SNP5 00100.0%
UUP5 0083.3%
Total:441 94083.3%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Mr James ArbuthnotNorth East HampshireConno
Mr Gregory BarkerBexhill and BattleConno
Sir Paul BeresfordMole ValleyConno
Mrs Angela BrowningTiverton and HonitonConno
Mr Alistair BurtNorth East BedfordshireConno
Mr John ButterfillBournemouth WestConno
Mr Christopher ChopeChristchurchConno
Mr Kenneth ClarkeRushcliffeConno
Sir Patrick CormackSouth StaffordshireConno
Mr David CurrySkipton and RiponConno
Mr Jonathan DjanoglyHuntingdonConno
Mr Nick GibbBognor Regis and LittlehamptonConno
Mr Paul GoodmanWycombeConno
Mr William HagueRichmond (Yorks)Conno
Mr John HoramOrpingtonConno
Mr Michael JackFyldeConno
Mr Ian Liddell-GraingerBridgwaterConno
Mr Peter LilleyHitchin and HarpendenConno
Mr John MaplesStratford-on-AvonConno
Mr Archie NormanTunbridge WellsConno
Mr Richard PageSouth West HertfordshireConno
Mr Andrew RosindellRomfordConno
Mr Andrew SelousSouth West BedfordshireConno
Mr Mark SimmondsBoston and SkegnessConno
Hon. Nicholas SoamesMid SussexConno
Mr Richard SpringWest SuffolkConno
Mr Anthony SteenTotnesConno
Mr Robert SymsPooleConno
Sir Peter TapsellLouth and HorncastleConno
Mr Ian TaylorEsher and WaltonConno
Mr Teddy TaylorRochford and Southend EastConno
Mr David TredinnickBosworthConno
Mr Michael TrendWindsorConno
Mr Andrew TurnerIsle of WightConno
Mr Andrew TyrieChichesterConno
Mr Peter ViggersGosportConno
Mr Robert WalterNorth DorsetConno
Mr Nicholas WintertonMacclesfieldConno
Sir George YoungNorth West HampshireConno
Mr Ivor CaplinHoveLab (minister)tellaye
Mr Tony ColmanPutneyLabaye
Mr Ian DavidsonGlasgow PollokLabaye
Mr Hilton DawsonLancaster and WyreLabaye
Mr Paul FlynnNewport WestLabaye
Ms Jane GriffithsReading EastLabaye
Mr Robert Marshall-AndrewsMedwayLabaye
Mr Ian PearsonDudley SouthLab (minister)aye
Ms Joan RyanEnfield NorthLab (minister)tellaye
Mr Norman BakerLewesLDemaye
Mr Nick HarveyNorth DevonLDemaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive