Modernisation of the House of Commons — 29 Oct 2002 at 22:14

Mr Dai Havard MP, Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney voted with the majority (Aye).

Question accordingly negatived.

Main Question put:-

That this House approves the Second Report from the Select Committee on Modernisation of the House of Commons, and endorses its proposals, in particular for more effective law making by more routine publication of bills in draft for pre-legislative scrutiny, for consultation with Opposition parties on the broad shape of the legislative year and more flexibility in programming, for an annual House of Commons calendar which would allow honourable Members to plan work in their constituencies more effectively and provide sittings in September balanced by an earlier recess in July, for more effective use of the Chamber including more regular use of time limits on speeches, and a Parliament that is more accessible to the public that it serves.-[Mr. Robin Cook.]

The House divided: Ayes 411, Noes 47.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con42 35047.2%
DUP2 0040.0%
Ind1 00100.0%
Ind Con0 10100.0%
Lab306 (+2 tell) 10 (+2 tell)078.0%
LDem47 0088.7%
PC4 00100.0%
SNP5 00100.0%
UUP4 1083.3%
Total:411 47071.3%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Mr David AmessSouthend WestConno
Mr David AtkinsonBournemouth EastConno
Mr Gregory BarkerBexhill and BattleConno
Mr Tim BoswellDaventryConno
Mr John ButterfillBournemouth WestConno
Mr Christopher ChopeChristchurchConno
Mr Jonathan DjanoglyHuntingdonConno
Mr Alan DuncanRutland and MeltonConno
Mr Michael FabricantLichfieldConno
Mr Michael FallonSevenoaksConno
Mr Edward GarnierHarboroughConno
Mr James GrayNorth WiltshireConno
Mr William HagueRichmond (Yorks)Conno
Mr Nick HawkinsSurrey HeathConno
Mr Gerald HowarthAldershotConno
Mr Boris JohnsonHenleyConno
Dr Julian LewisNew Forest EastConno
Mr Peter LilleyHitchin and HarpendenConno
Mr Humfrey MalinsWokingConno
Dr Brian MawhinneyNorth West CambridgeshireConno
Mrs Marion RoeBroxbourneConno
Mr Andrew RosindellRomfordConno
Mr David RuffleyBury St EdmundsConno
Mr Mark SimmondsBoston and SkegnessConno
Mr Michael SpicerWest WorcestershireConno
Mr Anthony SteenTotnesConno
Mr Hugo SwireEast DevonConno
Mr Robert SymsPooleConno
Mr Teddy TaylorRochford and Southend EastConno
Mr Peter ViggersGosportConno
Mr Nigel WatersonEastbourneConno
Miss Ann WiddecombeMaidstone and The WealdConno
Mr Bill WigginLeominsterConno
Mr John WilkinsonRuislip - NorthwoodConno
Mrs Ann WintertonCongletonwhilst Conno
Mr Nick AingerCarmarthen West and South PembrokeshireLabtellno
Mr David ClellandTyne BridgeLabno
Mr John CummingsEasingtonLabno
Dr Jack CunninghamCopelandLabno
Mr Tam DalyellLinlithgowLabno
Mr Andrew DismoreHendonLabno
Mr David MarshallGlasgow ShettlestonLabno
Mr John SpellarWarleyLabno
Mr Gerry SteinbergCity of DurhamLabno
Dr Gavin StrangEdinburgh East and MusselburghLabno
Mr Gerry SutcliffeBradford SouthLabtellno
Mr Dennis TurnerWolverhampton South EastLabno
Mr Roy BeggsEast AntrimUUPno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive