Ministerial Statements proposals — 29 Oct 2002 at 22:28

Mr Dai Havard MP, Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney voted with the majority (No).

The Aye-voters failed to remove the words 'and written ministerial statements' from the motion:

This House takes note of the Third Report from the Procedure Committee, Parliamentary Questions, House of Commons Paper No. 622, and the Government Response thereto, Cm 5628, and approves the proposals in both for a quota on named day questions, a reduction in the daily quota of questions per department, the introduction of electronic tabling subject to safeguards to ensure the authenticity of questions and the power of the Speaker to modify or halt the system if it appears it is being abused, and the timing and printing of answers to written questions and written ministerial statements.

This would have meant that ministers wouldn't be able to email their Ministerial Statements to the House.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con14 121082.8%
DUP0 2040.0%
Ind1 00100.0%
Ind Con0 10100.0%
Lab320 (+2 tell) 7 (+2 tell)080.7%
LDem50 0094.3%
PC1 30100.0%
SNP0 50100.0%
UUP0 5083.3%
Total:386 144082.4%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Mr Crispin BluntReigateConno
Mrs Angela BrowningTiverton and HonitonConno
Mr John ButterfillBournemouth WestConno
Mr Kenneth ClarkeRushcliffeConno
Mr David CurrySkipton and RiponConno
Mr Edward GarnierHarboroughConno
Mr Michael JackFyldeConno
Mr Peter LilleyHitchin and HarpendenConno
Mr John MaplesStratford-on-AvonConno
Mr Archie NormanTunbridge WellsConno
Mr Andrew TyrieChichesterConno
Mr Robert WalterNorth DorsetConno
Mr Nicholas WintertonMacclesfieldConno
Sir George YoungNorth West HampshireConno
Mr Ivor CaplinHoveLabtellaye
Ms Helen ClarkPeterboroughLabaye
Mr Denzil DaviesLlanelliLabaye
Mrs Gwyneth DunwoodyCrewe and NantwichLabaye
Mr Frank FieldBirkenheadLabaye
Ms Kate HoeyVauxhallLabaye
Ms Helen JonesWarrington NorthLabaye
Ms Joan RyanEnfield NorthLabtellaye
Mr Robert WareingLiverpool, West DerbyLabaye
Mr Simon ThomasCeredigionPCno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive