Start Sittings of the House of Commons at 11.30 am rather than 14.30 on Tuesdays — 29 Oct 2002 at 23:20

Mr Kenneth Clarke MP, Rushcliffe voted against starting sittings of the House of Commons on Tuesdays at 11.30am rather than 2.30pm.

The majority of MPs voted in favour of a motion[1] to start sittings of the House of Commons on Tuesdays at 11.30am rather than 2.30pm.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con23 116085.3%
DUP0 2040.0%
Ind0 10100.0%
Ind Con0 10100.0%
Lab213 (+2 tell) 119 (+2 tell)182.2%
LDem37 13094.3%
PC0 40100.0%
SNP0 50100.0%
UUP0 5083.3%
Total:273 266184.0%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Mr James ArbuthnotNorth East HampshireConaye
Mr Richard BaconSouth NorfolkConaye
Mr John BaronBillericayConaye
Mr Crispin BluntReigateConaye
Mr Mark FieldCities of London and WestminsterConaye
Mr Adrian FlookTauntonConaye
Mr John HoramOrpingtonConaye
Miss Julie KirkbrideBromsgroveConaye
Mr Edward LeighGainsboroughConaye
Mr Ian Liddell-GraingerBridgwaterConaye
Mr Andrew MacKayBracknellConaye
Dr Andrew MurrisonWestburyConaye
Mr Archie NormanTunbridge WellsConaye
Mr George OsborneTattonConaye
Mr Richard OttawayCroydon SouthConaye
Mr Michael PortilloKensington and ChelseaConaye
Mr Hugh RobertsonFaversham and Mid KentConaye
Mr David RuffleyBury St EdmundsConaye
Mr Andrew SelousSouth West BedfordshireConaye
Mr Hugo SwireEast DevonConaye
Mr David TredinnickBosworthConaye
Mr Robert WalterNorth DorsetConaye
Mr Bill WigginLeominsterConaye
Mrs Irene AdamsPaisley NorthLabno
Mr Nick AingerCarmarthen West and South PembrokeshireLabno
Mr Donald AndersonSwansea EastLabno
Mrs Janet AndersonRossendale and DarwenLabno
Mr Harry BarnesNorth East DerbyshireLabno
Mr Andrew BennettDenton and ReddishLabno
Mr Harold BestLeeds North WestLabno
Mr Clive BettsSheffield, AttercliffeLabno
Mr Bob BlizzardWaveneyLabno
Mr David BorrowSouth RibbleLabno
Mr Keith BradleyManchester, WithingtonLabno
Mr Kevin BrennanCardiff WestLabno
Mr Russell BrownDumfriesLabno
Mr Colin BurgonElmetLabno
Mr Ivor CaplinHoveLabno
Mr Ben ChapmanWirral SouthLabno
Ms Helen ClarkPeterboroughLabno
Mr Paul ClarkGillinghamLabno
Mr Tony ClarkeNorthampton SouthLabno
Mr David ClellandTyne BridgeLabno
Ms Ann ClwydCynon ValleyLabno
Mr Iain ColemanHammersmith and FulhamLabno
Mr David CrausbyBolton North EastLabno
Mr John CryerHornchurchLabno
Dr Jack CunninghamCopelandLabno
Mr Jim CunninghamCoventry SouthLabno
Mr Tony CunninghamWorkingtonLabno
Mr Tam DalyellLinlithgowLabno
Mr Denzil DaviesLlanelliLabno
Mr Andrew DismoreHendonLabno
Mr Brian H DonohoeCunninghame SouthLabno
Mr Jim DowdLewisham WestLabno
Mr Clive EffordElthamLabno
Mrs Louise EllmanLiverpool, RiversideLabno
Mr George FoulkesCarrick, Cumnock and Doon ValleyLabno
Mr Bruce GeorgeWalsall SouthLabno
Mr Neil GerrardWalthamstowLabno
Mr Dai HavardMerthyr Tydfil and RhymneyLabno
Mr John HealeyWentworthLabno
Mr Ivan HendersonHarwichLabno
Ms Kate HoeyVauxhallLabno
Mr Jimmy HoodClydesdaleLabno
Mr Phil HopeCorbyLabno
Mr Kelvin HopkinsLuton NorthLabno
Mr George HowarthKnowsley North and Sefton EastLabno
Mr Lindsay HoyleChorleyLabno
Mr Kevin HughesDoncaster NorthLabno
Mr Alan HurstBraintreeLabno
Dr Brian IddonBolton South EastLabno
Mr Eric IllsleyBarnsley CentralLabno
Mr Adam IngramEast KilbrideLabno
Mr Brian JenkinsTamworthLabno
Ms Helen JonesWarrington NorthLabno
Mr Jon Owen JonesCardiff CentralLabno
Dr Lynne JonesBirmingham, Selly OakLabno
Mr Gerald KaufmanManchester, GortonLabno
Mr Piara S KhabraEaling, SouthallLabno
Mr Andy KingRugby and KenilworthLabno
Dr Ashok KumarMiddlesbrough South and East ClevelandLabno
Mr Christopher LeslieShipleyLabno
Mr Terry LewisWorsleyLabno
Mr Ian LucasWrexhamLabno
Mr Andrew MacKinlayThurrockLabno
Mrs Alice MahonHalifaxLabno
Mr John MannBassetlawLabno
Mr Rob MarrisWolverhampton South WestLabno
Mr Gordon MarsdenBlackpool SouthLabno
Mr Eric MartlewCarlisleLabno
Mr Thomas McAvoyGlasgow RutherglenLabno
Mr Stephen McCabeBirmingham, Hall GreenLabno
Mr John McDonnellHayes and HarlingtonLabno
Mr John McFallDumbartonLabno
Mrs Anne McGuireStirlingLabno
Mr Tony McNultyHarrow EastLabno
Mr Alun MichaelCardiff South and PenarthLabno
Mr Andrew MillerEllesmere Port and NestonLabno
Dr Lewis MoonieKirkcaldyLabno
Mr Elliot MorleyScunthorpeLabno
Ms Kali MountfordColne ValleyLabno
Mr George MudieLeeds EastLabno
Mr Chris MullinSunderland SouthLabno
Mr Jim MurphyEast RenfrewshireLabno
Mr Dan NorrisWansdykeLabtellno
Mr Bill O'BrienNormantonLabno
Mr Bill OlnerNuneatonLabno
Mr Ian PearsonDudley SouthLabno
Mr Colin PickthallWest LancashireLabno
Mr James PlaskittWarwick and LeamingtonLabno
Mr Greg PopeHyndburnLabno
Mr Stephen PoundEaling NorthLabno
Ms Bridget PrenticeLewisham EastLabno
Mr John PrescottKingston upon Hull EastLabno
Dr John ReidHamilton North and BellshillLabno
Mr Terry RooneyBradford NorthLabno
Mr Frank RoyMotherwell and WishawLabno
Mr Alan SimpsonNottingham SouthLabno
Mr Dennis SkinnerBolsoverLabno
Ms Angela SmithBasildonLabno
Ms Geraldine SmithMorecambe and LunesdaleLabno
Mr Llew SmithBlaenau GwentLabno
Mr John SpellarWarleyLabno
Ms Rachel SquireDunfermline WestLabno
Mr Gerry SteinbergCity of DurhamLabno
Mr Ian StewartEcclesLabno
Dr Howard StoateDartfordLabno
Dr Gavin StrangEdinburgh East and MusselburghLabno
Mr Graham StringerManchester, BlackleyLabno
Mr Gerry SutcliffeBradford SouthLabno
Mr David TaylorNorth West LeicestershireLabno
Mr Gareth ThomasHarrow WestLabno
Mr Paddy TippingSherwoodLabno
Mr Don TouhigIslwynLabno
Mr Dennis TurnerWolverhampton South EastLabno
Dr Desmond TurnerBrighton, KemptownLabno
Mr Neil TurnerWiganLabno
Mr Derek TwiggHaltonLabtellno
Ms Claire WardWatfordLabno
Mr Tom WatsonWest Bromwich EastLabno
Mr Dave WattsSt Helens NorthLabno
Mr Brian WhiteNorth East Milton KeynesLabno
Mr Anthony D WrightGreat YarmouthLabno
Mr David HansonDelynLabboth
Mr John BurnettTorridge and West DevonLDemno
Mr Brian CotterWeston-Super-MareLDemno
Ms Sue DoughtyGuildfordLDemno
Mr Andrew GeorgeSt IvesLDemno
Mr David HeathSomerton and FromeLDemno
Mr Simon HughesNorth Southwark and BermondseyLDemno
Mr Lembit ÖpikMontgomeryshireLDemno
Mr Alan ReidArgyll and ButeLDemno
Mr Bob RussellColchesterLDemno
Sir Robert SmithWest Aberdeenshire and KincardineLDemno
Mr Roger WilliamsBrecon and RadnorshireLDemno
Mr Phil WillisHarrogate and KnaresboroughLDemno
Mr Richard Younger-RossTeignbridgeLDemno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive