Start Sittings of the House of Commons at 11.30 am rather than 14.30 on Tuesdays — 29 Oct 2002 at 23:20

The majority of MPs voted in favour of a motion[1] to start sittings of the House of Commons on Tuesdays at 11.30am rather than 2.30pm.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con23 116085.3%
DUP0 2040.0%
Ind0 10100.0%
Ind Con0 10100.0%
Lab213 (+2 tell) 119 (+2 tell)182.2%
LDem37 13094.3%
PC0 40100.0%
SNP0 50100.0%
UUP0 5083.3%
Total:273 266184.0%

Rebel Voters - sorted by constituency

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Mr Alan ReidArgyll and ButeLDemno
Mr Eric IllsleyBarnsley CentralLabno
Ms Angela SmithBasildonLab (minister)no
Mr John MannBassetlawLabno
Mr John BaronBillericayConaye
Mr Stephen McCabeBirmingham, Hall GreenLabno
Dr Lynne JonesBirmingham, Selly OakLabno
Mr Gordon MarsdenBlackpool SouthLabno
Mr Llew SmithBlaenau GwentLabno
Mr Dennis SkinnerBolsoverLabno
Mr David CrausbyBolton North EastLabno
Dr Brian IddonBolton South EastLabno
Mr David TredinnickBosworthConaye
Mr Andrew MacKayBracknellConaye
Mr Terry RooneyBradford NorthLabno
Mr Gerry SutcliffeBradford SouthLabno
Mr Alan HurstBraintreeLabno
Mr Roger WilliamsBrecon and RadnorshireLDemno
Mr Ian Liddell-GraingerBridgwaterConaye
Dr Desmond TurnerBrighton, KemptownLabno
Miss Julie KirkbrideBromsgroveConaye
Mr David RuffleyBury St EdmundsConaye
Mr Jon Owen JonesCardiff CentralLabno
Mr Alun MichaelCardiff South and PenarthLab (minister)no
Mr Kevin BrennanCardiff WestLabno
Mr Eric MartlewCarlisleLabno
Mr Nick AingerCarmarthen West and South PembrokeshireLab (minister)no
Mr George FoulkesCarrick, Cumnock and Doon ValleyLabno
Mr Lindsay HoyleChorleyLabno
Mr Mark FieldCities of London and WestminsterConaye
Mr Gerry SteinbergCity of DurhamLabno
Mr Jimmy HoodClydesdaleLabno
Mr Bob RussellColchesterLDemno
Ms Kali MountfordColne ValleyLabno
Dr Jack CunninghamCopelandLabno
Mr Phil HopeCorbyLab (minister)no
Mr Jim CunninghamCoventry SouthLabno
Mr Richard OttawayCroydon SouthConaye
Mr Brian H DonohoeCunninghame SouthLabno
Ms Ann ClwydCynon ValleyLabno
Dr Howard StoateDartfordLabno
Mr David HansonDelynLabboth
Mr Andrew BennettDenton and ReddishLabno
Mr Kevin HughesDoncaster NorthLabno
Mr Ian PearsonDudley SouthLab (minister)no
Mr John McFallDumbartonLabno
Mr Russell BrownDumfriesLabno
Ms Rachel SquireDunfermline WestLabno
Mr Stephen PoundEaling NorthLabno
Mr Piara S KhabraEaling, SouthallLabno
Mr Hugo SwireEast DevonConaye
Mr Adam IngramEast KilbrideLab (minister)no
Mr Jim MurphyEast RenfrewshireLabno
Mr Ian StewartEcclesLabno
Dr Gavin StrangEdinburgh East and MusselburghLabno
Mr Andrew MillerEllesmere Port and NestonLabno
Mr Colin BurgonElmetLabno
Mr Clive EffordElthamLabno
Mr Hugh RobertsonFaversham and Mid KentConaye
Mr Edward LeighGainsboroughConaye
Mr Paul ClarkGillinghamLabno
Mr Thomas McAvoyGlasgow RutherglenLab (minister)no
Mr Anthony D WrightGreat YarmouthLabno
Ms Sue DoughtyGuildfordLDemno
Mrs Alice MahonHalifaxLabno
Mr Derek TwiggHaltonLabtellno
Dr John ReidHamilton North and BellshillLab (minister)no
Mr Iain ColemanHammersmith and FulhamLabno
Mr Phil WillisHarrogate and KnaresboroughLDemno
Mr Tony McNultyHarrow EastLab (minister)no
Mr Gareth ThomasHarrow WestLabno
Mr Ivan HendersonHarwichLabno
Mr John McDonnellHayes and HarlingtonLabno
Mr Andrew DismoreHendonLabno
Mr John CryerHornchurchLabno
Mr Ivor CaplinHoveLab (minister)no
Mr Greg PopeHyndburnLabno
Mr Don TouhigIslwynLab (minister)no
Mr Michael PortilloKensington and ChelseaConaye
Mr John PrescottKingston upon Hull EastLab (minister)no
Dr Lewis MoonieKirkcaldyLab (minister)no
Mr George HowarthKnowsley North and Sefton EastLabno
Mr George MudieLeeds EastLabno
Mr Harold BestLeeds North WestLabno
Mr Bill WigginLeominsterConaye
Ms Bridget PrenticeLewisham EastLabno
Mr Jim DowdLewisham WestLabno
Mr Tam DalyellLinlithgowLabno
Mrs Louise EllmanLiverpool, RiversideLabno
Mr Denzil DaviesLlanelliLabno
Mr Kelvin HopkinsLuton NorthLabno
Mr Graham StringerManchester, BlackleyLabno
Mr Gerald KaufmanManchester, GortonLabno
Mr Keith BradleyManchester, WithingtonLabno
Mr Dai HavardMerthyr Tydfil and RhymneyLabno
Dr Ashok KumarMiddlesbrough South and East ClevelandLabno
Mr Lembit ÖpikMontgomeryshireLDemno
Ms Geraldine SmithMorecambe and LunesdaleLabno
Mr Frank RoyMotherwell and WishawLabno
Mr Bill O'BrienNormantonLabno
Mr Robert WalterNorth DorsetConaye
Mr Harry BarnesNorth East DerbyshireLabno
Mr James ArbuthnotNorth East HampshireConaye
Mr Brian WhiteNorth East Milton KeynesLabno
Mr Simon HughesNorth Southwark and BermondseyLDemno
Mr David TaylorNorth West LeicestershireLabno
Mr Tony ClarkeNorthampton SouthLabno
Mr Alan SimpsonNottingham SouthLabno
Mr Bill OlnerNuneatonLabno
Mr John HoramOrpingtonConaye
Mrs Irene AdamsPaisley NorthLabno
Ms Helen ClarkPeterboroughLabno
Mr Crispin BluntReigateConaye
Mrs Janet AndersonRossendale and DarwenLabno
Mr Andy KingRugby and KenilworthLabno
Mr Elliot MorleyScunthorpeLab (minister)no
Mr Clive BettsSheffield, AttercliffeLabno
Mr Paddy TippingSherwoodLabno
Mr Christopher LeslieShipleyLabno
Mr David HeathSomerton and FromeLDemno
Mr Richard BaconSouth NorfolkConaye
Mr David BorrowSouth RibbleLabno
Mr Andrew SelousSouth West BedfordshireConaye
Mr Dave WattsSt Helens NorthLabno
Mr Andrew GeorgeSt IvesLDemno
Mrs Anne McGuireStirlingLabno
Mr Chris MullinSunderland SouthLabno
Mr Donald AndersonSwansea EastLabno
Mr Brian JenkinsTamworthLabno
Mr George OsborneTattonConaye
Mr Adrian FlookTauntonConaye
Mr Richard Younger-RossTeignbridgeLDemno
Mr Andrew MacKinlayThurrockLabno
Mr John BurnettTorridge and West DevonLDemno
Mr Archie NormanTunbridge WellsConaye
Mr David ClellandTyne BridgeLabno
Ms Kate HoeyVauxhallLabno
Mr Bruce GeorgeWalsall SouthLabno
Mr Neil GerrardWalthamstowLabno
Mr Dan NorrisWansdykeLab (minister)tellno
Mr John SpellarWarleyLabno
Ms Helen JonesWarrington NorthLabno
Mr James PlaskittWarwick and LeamingtonLabno
Ms Claire WardWatfordLabno
Mr Bob BlizzardWaveneyLabno
Mr John HealeyWentworthLabno
Sir Robert SmithWest Aberdeenshire and KincardineLDemno
Mr Tom WatsonWest Bromwich EastLabno
Mr Colin PickthallWest LancashireLabno
Dr Andrew MurrisonWestburyConaye
Mr Brian CotterWeston-Super-MareLDemno
Mr Neil TurnerWiganLabno
Mr Ben ChapmanWirral SouthLabno
Mr Dennis TurnerWolverhampton South EastLabno
Mr Rob MarrisWolverhampton South WestLabno
Mr Tony CunninghamWorkingtonLabno
Mr Terry LewisWorsleyLabno
Mr Ian LucasWrexhamLabno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive