House of Lords Reform — 80 per cent appointed/20 per cent elected — 4 Feb 2003 at 15:56

That this House approves Option 3 (80 per cent appointed/20 per cent elected)

On Question, Whether the said Motion (Option 3) shall be agreed to?

Their Lordships divided: Contents, 39; Not-Contents, 375.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Not-Content)Minority (Content)Turnout
Bishop2 425.0%
Con132 (+1 tell) 865.9%
Crossbench81 7 (+1 tell)53.0%
Green1 0100.0%
Independent Labour1 0100.0%
Lab108 (+1 tell) 15 (+1 tell)65.1%
LDem46 375.4%
Other1 06.7%
UUP1 033.3%
Total:373 3760.6%

Rebel Voters - sorted by vote

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Archer of SandwellLabaye
Berkeley Labaye
Brooke of AlverthorpeLabaye
Butler of BrockwellCrossbenchtellaye
Chalker of WallaseyConaye
Craigavon Crossbenchaye
Davies of OldhamLab (minister)aye
Dean of Thornton-le-FyldeLabaye
Gale Labaye
Gardner of ParkesConaye
Graham of EdmontonLabtellaye
Greenway Crossbenchaye
Hannay of ChiswickCrossbenchaye
Hoyle Labaye
Hurd of WestwellConaye
Jellicoe Conaye
Lamont of LerwickConaye
May of OxfordCrossbenchaye
Mitchell Labaye
Montagu of BeaulieuConaye
The of MontroseConaye
Perry of WaltonLDemaye
Phillips of SudburyLDemaye
Pitkeathley Labaye
Rennard LDemaye
Sawyer Labaye
St John of BletsoCrossbenchaye
Stone of BlackheathLabaye
Thomas of SwynnertonCrossbenchaye
Uddin Labaye
Wakeham Conaye
Warner Labaye
Warwick of UndercliffeLabaye
Whitaker Labaye
Wilson of TillyornCrossbenchaye
The of ChesterBishopno
The of GuildfordBishopno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive