House of Lords Reform — 80 per cent elected/20 per cent appointed — 4 Feb 2003 at 16:16

That this House approves Option 4 (80 per cent elected/20 per cent appointed).

On Question, Whether the said Motion (Option 4) shall be agreed to?

Their Lordships divided: Contents, 93; Not-Contents, 338.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Not-Content)Minority (Content)Turnout
Bishop6 024.0%
Con129 (+1 tell) 1969.6%
Green1 0100.0%
Ind Lab1 0100.0%
Judge1 016.7%
Lab97 (+1 tell) 30 (+1 tell)67.2%
LDem13 39 (+1 tell)81.5%
Other1 06.7%
UUP1 033.3%
Crossbench86 353.0%
Total:336 9162.5%

Rebel Voters - sorted by vote

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Lord Alexander of WeedonConaye
Baroness Amos Labaye
Lord Baker of DorkingConaye
Lord Bernstein of CraigweilLabaye
Lord Bragg Labaye
The Earl of CaithnessConaye
Lord Campbell-Savours Labaye
Lord Carrington Conaye
Viscount Chandos Labaye
Lord Cockfield Conaye
Lord Cope of BerkeleyConaye
Lord Davies of OldhamLabaye
Lord Desai Labaye
Lord Dixon Labaye
Lord Dixon-Smith Conaye
Lord Dormand of EasingtonLabaye
Lord Dubs Labaye
Lord Evans of Temple GuitingLabaye
Lord Filkin Labaye
Lord Fyfe of FairfieldLabaye
Baroness Gale Labaye
Lord Gilmour of CraigmillarConaye
Viscount Goschen Conaye
Lord Graham of EdmontonLabtellaye
Lord Hattersley Labaye
Lord Henley Conaye
Baroness Hooper Conaye
Lord Hoyle Labaye
Lord Hunt of ChestertonLabaye
Lord Hunt of Kings HeathLabaye
Baroness Kennedy of The ShawsLabaye
Lord Mancroft Conaye
Lord Mitchell Labaye
Lord Moynihan Conaye
The Earl of OnslowConaye
Baroness Pitkeathley Labaye
Lord Plant of HighfieldLabaye
Lord Prior Conaye
Lord Prys-Davies Labaye
Lord Rea Labaye
Baroness Rendell of BaberghLabaye
Lord Richard Labaye
Lord Smith of LeighLabaye
Lord Soulsby of Swaffham PriorConaye
Lord Strathclyde Conaye
Lord Trefgarne Conaye
Baroness Uddin Labaye
Lord Waddington Conaye
Lord Whitty Labaye
Lord Williams of MostynLabaye
Lord Bradshaw LDemno
Lord Carlile of BerriewLDemno
Lord Dahrendorf LDemno
Viscount Falkland LDemno
Lord Geraint LDemno
Lord Mackie of BenshieLDemno
Lord Methuen LDemno
Lord Phillips of SudburyLDemno
Lord Russell-Johnston LDemno
Lord Sandberg LDemno
Lord Tordoff LDemno
Lord Watson of RichmondLDemno
Lord Wigoder LDemno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive