House of Lords Reform — 50 per cent appointed/50 per cent elected — 4 Feb 2003 at 17:09

was absent

That this House approves Option 7 (50 per cent appointed/50 per cent elected)p>

On Question, Whether the said Motion (Option 7) shall be agreed to?

Their Lordships divided: Contents, 84; Not-Contents, 322.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Not-Content)Minority (Content)Turnout
Bishop5 020.8%
Con129 (+1 tell) 1266.4%
Crossbench71 1048.2%
Green1 0100.0%
Independent Labour1 0100.0%
Lab94 (+1 tell) 34 (+1 tell)67.7%
LDem17 26 (+1 tell)67.7%
Other1 06.7%
UUP1 033.3%
Total:320 8259.4%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Alexander of WeedonConaye
Baker of DorkingConaye
Henley Conaye
Hogg Conaye
Lucas Conaye
Moynihan Conaye
The of OnslowConaye
Prior Conaye
Quinton Conaye
Renton of Mount HarryConaye
The of SelborneConaye
Wolfson Conaye
Adebowale Crossbenchaye
Alton of LiverpoolCrossbenchaye
Freyberg Crossbenchaye
Hylton Crossbenchaye
Joffe Crossbenchaye
Lloyd of BerwickCrossbenchaye
May of OxfordCrossbenchaye
O'Neill of BengarveCrossbenchaye
Thomas of SwynnertonCrossbenchaye
Warnock Crossbenchaye
Acton Labaye
Amos Lab (minister)aye
Andrews Lab (minister)aye
Bassam of BrightonLab (minister)aye
Bragg Labaye
Brooke of AlverthorpeLabaye
Chandos Labaye
Davies of OldhamLab (minister)aye
Desai Labaye
Dixon Labaye
Dormand of EasingtonLabaye
Dubs Labaye
Evans of Temple GuitingLabaye
Fyfe of FairfieldLabaye
Gale Labaye
Graham of EdmontonLabtellaye
Hoyle Labaye
Hunt of ChestertonLabaye
Hunt of Kings HeathLab (minister)aye
Jay of PaddingtonLabaye
Judd Labaye
Kennedy of The ShawsLabaye
Lockwood Labaye
Mitchell Labaye
Parekh Labaye
Pitkeathley Labaye
Plant of HighfieldLabaye
Prys-Davies Labaye
Rea Labaye
Richard Labaye
Sawyer Labaye
Smith of LeighLabaye
Uddin Labaye
Whitaker Labaye
Williams of MostynLab (minister)aye
Carlile of BerriewLDemno
Dahrendorf LDemno
Falkland LDemno
Fearn LDemno
Geraint LDemno
Harris of RichmondLDemno
Hooson LDemno
Mackie of BenshieLDemno
Methuen LDemno
Phillips of SudburyLDemno
Russell-Johnston LDemno
Sandberg LDemno
Shutt of GreetlandLDemno
Thomas of WalliswoodLDemno
Tordoff LDemno
Walmsley LDemno
Wigoder LDemno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive