Smoking (Restaurants) Bill — 14 Apr 2003 at 17:28

Mr Mark Lazarowicz MP, Edinburgh North and Leith voted with the majority (Aye).

Those voting Aye in the division allowed the introduction of a bill to ban smoking in restaurants.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con6 25 (+1 tell)019.6%
DUP1 0020.0%
Ind1 00100.0%
Ind Con0 0 (+1 tell)0100.0%
Lab91 (+2 tell) 8024.6%
LDem11 8035.8%
PC2 0050.0%
UUP3 2083.3%
Total:115 43025.2%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Mr Peter BottomleyWorthing WestConaye
Dr Brian MawhinneyNorth West CambridgeshireConaye
Dr Bob SpinkCastle PointConaye
Mr John StanleyTonbridge and MallingConaye
Mr Anthony SteenTotnesConaye
Mr Peter ViggersGosportConaye
Mr Ronnie CampbellBlyth ValleyLabno
Mr John CryerHornchurchLabno
Mr John CummingsEasingtonLabno
Mr Bill EtheringtonSunderland NorthLabno
Mr David HamiltonMidlothianLabno
Mr Kevin HughesDoncaster NorthLabno
Mr Alan MealeMansfieldLabno
Mr Stephen PoundEaling NorthLabno
Mr Alistair CarmichaelOrkney and ShetlandLDemno
Mr Brian CotterWeston-Super-MareLDemno
Mr Nick HarveyNorth DevonLDemno
Mr Norman LambNorth NorfolkLDemno
Mr David LawsYeovilLDemno
Mr Mark OatenWinchesterLDemno
Mr Lembit ÖpikMontgomeryshireLDemno
Mr Adrian SandersTorbayLDemno
Mr Roy BeggsEast AntrimUUPno
Mr David BurnsideSouth Antrimwhilst UUPno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive