Communications Bill — 8 Jul 2003 at 16:21

Lord Swinfen voted with the majority (Not-Content).

Read a third time.

Clause 3 [General duties of OFCOM]:

moved Amendment No. 1:

Page 3, line 8, at end insert "with due regard to the qualifications and limitations contained in paragraph 6A of Schedule 14"

On Question, Whether the said amendment (No. 1) shall be agreed to?

Their Lordships divided: Contents, 137; Not-Contents, 167.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Not-Content)Minority (Content)Turnout
Bishop1 04.2%
Con60 40 (+1 tell)47.6%
Green0 1100.0%
Ind Lab0 1100.0%
Lab93 (+2 tell) 1155.5%
LDem0 54 (+1 tell)84.6%
Other1 07.1%
UUP0 3100.0%
Crossbench10 2520.6%
Total:165 13544.6%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Lord Bowness Conaye
Lord Brittan of SpennithorneConaye
Lord Brooke of Sutton MandevilleConaye
Lord Burnham Conaye
The Earl of CaithnessConaye
Lord Colwyn Conaye
Lord Crickhowell Contellaye
The Earl of DundeeConaye
Lord Eden of WintonConaye
Lord Elton Conaye
Earl Ferrers Conaye
Lord Fowler Conaye
Lord Gray of ContinConaye
Lord Hayhoe Conaye
Baroness Hooper Conaye
Lord Howe of AberavonConaye
Lord Hurd of WestwellConaye
Lord Jopling Conaye
Lord King of BridgwaterConaye
Lord Lamont of LerwickConaye
Lord Lane of HorsellConaye
The Earl of LiverpoolConaye
Lord Lucas Conaye
Lord MacGregor of Pulham MarketConaye
Lord Mayhew of TwysdenConaye
Lord Northbrook Conaye
Baroness O'Cathain Conaye
The Earl of OnslowConaye
Baroness Oppenheim-Barnes Conaye
Baroness Perry of SouthwarkConaye
Lord Peyton of YeovilConaye
Lord Pilkington of OxenfordConaye
Lord Quinton Conaye
Lord Ryder of WensumConaye
Lord Selsdon Conaye
Baroness Sharples Conaye
Lord Stevens of LudgateConaye
Lord Tebbit Conaye
Lord Waddington Conaye
Lord Walker of WorcesterConaye
Lord Windlesham Conaye
Lord Acton Labaye
Baroness Cohen of PimlicoLabaye
Baroness Dean of Thornton-le-FyldeLabaye
Lord Donoughue Labaye
Lord Gavron Labaye
Lord Gordon of StrathblaneLabaye
Lord Morgan Labaye
Lord Parekh Labaye
Lord Sawyer Labaye
Lord Sheldon Labaye
Lord Wedderburn of CharltonLabaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive