Local Government Bill, timescale conditions on repeal of section 28 — 10 Jul 2003 at 18:12

Lord Levy was absent

Baroness Blatch introduced an amendment that said section 28 would only be repealed "Subject to the terms of section 127(2A)," which are given on http://www.publications.parliament.uk/pa/ld200203/ldbills/082/amend/ml082-iii.htm - this amendment was defeated.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Not-Content)Minority (Content)Turnout
Bishop1 18.0%
Con7 88 (+1 tell)45.3%
Green1 0100.0%
Ind Lab0 1100.0%
Lab103 (+1 tell) 1160.2%
LDem41 (+1 tell) 064.6%
Other2 014.3%
UUP0 266.7%
Crossbench23 25 (+1 tell)29.0%
Total:178 12845.5%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Lord Biffen Conno
Lord Brittan of SpennithorneConno
Lord Campbell of AllowayConno
Baroness Flather Conno
Lord Mayhew of TwysdenConno
Lord Norton of LouthConno
Lord St John of FawsleyConno
Lord Ahmed Labaye
Lord Brookman Labaye
Lord Brooks of TremorfaLabaye
Lord Davies of CoityLabaye
Lord Dixon Labaye
Lord Donoughue Labaye
Lord Evans of ParksideLabaye
Lord Howie of TroonLabaye
Lord Lofthouse of PontefractLabaye
Viscount Simon Labaye
Lord Strabolgi Labaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive