[S2M-541.1 (Amendment)] Decision Time — 5 Nov 2003 at 17:03

Margaret Mitchell MP, Central Scotland voted in the minority (Aye).

This looks like the vote on S2M-541.1

The description in the bulletin on 2003-11-05 is:

*S2M-541.1 David Mundell: Scotland's Transport-As an amendment to motion (S2M-541) in the name of Nicol Stephen, leave out from "recognises" to end and insert "regrets that the Scottish Executive's transport policies continue to be driven by spin, the need for press releases and photo opportunities and a determination to introduce road tolls; notes the Executive's continuing failure to make any firm financial commitments to significant infrastructure projects, such as the Borders rail link and addressing missing strategic links in the road network; believes that there is no evidence that the introduction of further bureaucracy and delays to decision-making, as represented by the proposed transport agency, will improve infrastructure or services, and calls upon the Executive to produce detailed and costed measures with start and completion dates for the major transport infrastructure programmes that the Scottish economy and local communities need in the 21st century."

You can search for this motion (S2M-541.1) on TheyWorkForYou

Text Introducing Division:

The second question is, that amendment S2M-541.1, in the name of David Mundell, which seeks to amend motion S2M-541, in the name of Nicol Stephen, on Scotland's transport, be agreed to. Are we agreed?


There will be a division.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)AbstentionsTurnout
Con0 15083.3%
Green7 00100.0%
Independent1 0166.7%
Lab48 0096.0%
LDem16 0094.1%
SNP0 02388.5%
SSCUP0 01100.0%
SSP6 00100.0%
Total:78 152592.2%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive