Water Bill [Lords] — New Clause 1 — Prohibition of Artificial Fluoridation of Water Supplies — 10 Nov 2003 at 20:45

Mr Mark Tami MP, Alyn and Deeside voted in the minority (Aye).

I beg to move, That the clause be read a Second time.

It being Nine o'clock, Mr. Deputy Speaker put the Question already proposed from the Chair.

The House divided: Ayes 181, Noes 284.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con26 92072.4%
Ind1 0050.0%
Ind UU0 1033.3%
Lab248 (+2 tell) 53 (+2 tell)074.8%
LDem10 32077.8%
PC0 40100.0%
Total:285 182074.3%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Mr Peter AtkinsonHexhamConno
Mr Tony BaldryBanburyConno
Sir Paul BeresfordMole ValleyConno
Mr Crispin BluntReigateConno
Mr Peter BottomleyWorthing WestConno
Mr James ClappisonHertsmereConno
Mr Kenneth ClarkeRushcliffeConno
Mr David CurrySkipton and RiponConno
Mr Philip HammondRunnymede and WeybridgeConno
Mr John HayesSouth Holland and The DeepingsConno
Mr John HoramOrpingtonConno
Mr Michael JackFyldeConno
Mr Robert KeySalisburyConno
Miss Julie KirkbrideBromsgroveConno
Mr Peter LuffMid WorcestershireConno
Dr Brian MawhinneyNorth West CambridgeshireConno
Mr Richard PageSouth West HertfordshireConno
Mr Michael PortilloKensington and ChelseaConno
Sir Peter TapsellLouth and HorncastleConno
Mr Ian TaylorEsher and WaltonConno
Mr John TaylorSolihullConno
Mr David TredinnickBosworthConno
Mr Robert WalterNorth DorsetConno
Miss Ann WiddecombeMaidstone and The WealdConno
Mr John WilkinsonRuislip - NorthwoodConno
Sir George YoungNorth West HampshireConno
Mrs Irene AdamsPaisley NorthLabaye
Mr John AustinErith and ThamesmeadLabaye
Mr Harry BarnesNorth East DerbyshireLabaye
Mr Hilary BennLeeds CentralLabaye
Mr Andrew BennettDenton and ReddishLabaye
Mr Colin BurgonElmetLabaye
Mr Frank CookStockton NorthLabaye
Mr Jeremy CorbynIslington NorthLabaye
Mr David CrausbyBolton North EastLabaye
Mr John CryerHornchurchLabaye
Mr Denzil DaviesLlanelliLabaye
Mr Brian H DonohoeCunninghame SouthLabaye
Mr Frank DoranAberdeen CentralLabaye
Mr David DrewStroudLabaye
Mr Bill EtheringtonSunderland NorthLabaye
Mr John GroganSelbyLabaye
Mr David HinchliffeWakefieldLabaye
Ms Kate HoeyVauxhallLabaye
Mr Jimmy HoodClydesdaleLabaye
Mr Lindsay HoyleChorleyLabaye
Mr Kevin HughesDoncaster NorthLabaye
Mr Alan HurstBraintreeLabaye
Ms Helen JonesWarrington NorthLabaye
Mr Martyn JonesClwyd SouthLabaye
Mr Terry LewisWorsleyLabaye
Mr John LyonsStrathkelvin and BearsdenLabaye
Mr John MacDougallCentral FifeLabaye
Mr David MarshallGlasgow ShettlestonLabaye
Mr Thomas McAvoyGlasgow RutherglenLabaye
Ms Chris McCaffertyCalder ValleyLabaye
Mr John McDonnellHayes and HarlingtonLabaye
Mr Kevin McNamaraKingston upon Hull NorthLabaye
Mr George MudieLeeds EastLabaye
Mr Jim MurphyEast RenfrewshireLabtellaye
Mr Mike O'BrienNorth WarwickshireLabaye
Mr Greg PopeHyndburnLabaye
Mr Ken PurchaseWolverhampton North EastLabaye
Ms Joan RuddockLewisham, DeptfordLabaye
Mr Jim SheridanWest RenfrewshireLabaye
Mr Alan SimpsonNottingham SouthLabaye
Mr Dennis SkinnerBolsoverLabaye
Mr Llew SmithBlaenau GwentLabaye
Mr David StewartInverness East, Nairn and LochaberLabaye
Mr Jack StrawBlackburnLabaye
Mr Mark TamiAlyn and DeesideLabaye
Mr Gareth ThomasClwyd WestLabaye
Mr Paddy TippingSherwoodLabaye
Mr Jon TrickettHemsworthLabaye
Mr Derek TwiggHaltonLabtellaye
Dr Rudi VisFinchley and Golders GreenLabaye
Ms Joan WalleyStoke-on-Trent NorthLabaye
Mr Brian WhiteNorth East Milton KeynesLabaye
Mr Alan WilliamsSwansea WestLabaye
Mr Mike WoodBatley and SpenLabaye
Mr Jimmy WrayGlasgow BailliestonLabaye
Ms Patsy CaltonCheadleLDemno
Mr David ChidgeyEastleighLDemno
Mr Edward DaveyKingston and SurbitonLDemno
Mr Andrew GeorgeSt IvesLDemno
Dr Evan HarrisOxford West and AbingdonLDemno
Mr Charles KennedyRoss, Skye and Inverness WestLDemno
Mr David RendelNewburyLDemno
Mr Andrew StunellHazel GroveLDemno
Ms Sarah TeatherBrent EastLDemno
Dr Jenny TongeRichmond ParkLDemno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive