Fire Services Bill — Clause 1 — Powers of the Secretary of State — 12 Nov 2003 at 15:00

Mr John Grogan MP, Selby voted with the majority (No).

I beg to move, That this House agrees with the Lords in the said amendment.

The amendment is intended to clarify the consultation arrangements for directions about property or facilities made under the power in clause 1(1)(b), which allows the Secretary of State to give directions to fire authorities about the

I beg to move amendment (a) to the Lords amendment, in line 6, at end, add

'or enables an action in tort on the ground only that it contravenes a statutory duty imposed by an order made under this Act, which would affect the possibility of mediation, conciliation or arbitration.'

Question put, That the amendment to the Lords amendment be made:-

The House divided: Ayes 85, Noes 412.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con139 0085.3%
Ind1 0050.0%
Lab271 (+2 tell) 39 (+2 tell)177.2%
LDem0 41075.9%
PC0 40100.0%
UUP1 0033.3%
Total:412 84179.0%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Miss Diane AbbottHackney North and Stoke NewingtonLabaye
Mr Harry BarnesNorth East DerbyshireLabaye
Mr Nigel BeardBexleyheath and CrayfordLabaye
Mr Colin BurgonElmetLabaye
Mr Ronnie CampbellBlyth ValleyLabaye
Mr Colin ChallenMorley and RothwellLabaye
Ms Helen ClarkPeterboroughLabaye
Mr Iain ColemanHammersmith and FulhamLabaye
Mr Michael ConnartyFalkirk EastLabaye
Mr Jeremy CorbynIslington NorthLabtellaye
Mr Jim CousinsNewcastle upon Tyne CentralLabaye
Mrs Ann CryerKeighleyLabaye
Mr John CryerHornchurchLabaye
Mr Ian DavidsonGlasgow PollokLabaye
Mr Andrew DismoreHendonLabaye
Mr David DrewStroudLabaye
Mr Bill EtheringtonSunderland NorthLabaye
Mr Neil GerrardWalthamstowLabaye
Mr David HamiltonMidlothianLabaye
Mr Dai HavardMerthyr Tydfil and RhymneyLabaye
Mr Kelvin HopkinsLuton NorthLabtellaye
Dr Lynne JonesBirmingham, Selly OakLabaye
Mr Andy KingRugby and KenilworthLabaye
Mr Andrew MacKinlayThurrockLabaye
Dr Jim MarshallLeicester SouthLabaye
Mr Robert Marshall-AndrewsMedwayLabaye
Mr John McDonnellHayes and HarlingtonLabaye
Mr Kevin McNamaraKingston upon Hull NorthLabaye
Mr Austin MitchellGreat GrimsbyLabaye
Mr George MudieLeeds EastLabaye
Mr Phil SawfordKetteringLabaye
Mr Brian SedgemoreHackney South and ShoreditchLabaye
Mr Alan SimpsonNottingham SouthLabaye
Mr Dennis SkinnerBolsoverLabaye
Ms Geraldine SmithMorecambe and LunesdaleLabaye
Mr Llew SmithBlaenau GwentLabaye
Dr Rudi VisFinchley and Golders GreenLabaye
Ms Joan WalleyStoke-on-Trent NorthLabaye
Mr Robert WareingLiverpool, West DerbyLabaye
Mr David WinnickWalsall NorthLabaye
Mr Mike WoodBatley and SpenLabaye
Mr Mark HendrickPrestonLabboth

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive