Higher Education Bill — Second Reading — Increase in University Tuition Fees — 27 Jan 2004 at 18:38

The majority of MPs voted in favour of university tuition fees increasing from £1125 per year to up to £3000 per year, and to make other changes to higher education funding and regulation arrangements.

The majority of MPs voted to allow the Higher Education Bill 2004 to move to its Second reading, and continue its path to becoming law.

The main provisions of the bill were:

  • To allow University tuition fees to increase from the fixed £1125 per year to up to £3000 per year.
  • To create the Office for Fair Access to regulation higher education institution's charging of fees.
  • To create the Office of the Adjudicator in Higher Education - a complaints body - higher education institutions became legally bound to deal with.
  • To create the Arts and Humanities Research Council.


Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con1 158 (+2 tell)098.8%
DUP0 60100.0%
Ind0 20100.0%
Ind Con0 10100.0%
Lab314 (+2 tell) 72195.3%
LDem0 540100.0%
PC0 40100.0%
SDLP0 30100.0%
SNP0 50100.0%
UUP0 50100.0%
Total:315 310196.8%

Rebel Voters - sorted by constituency

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Mr Eric IllsleyBarnsley CentralLabno
Mr Michael ClaphamBarnsley West and PenistoneLabno
Mr Mike WoodBatley and SpenLabno
Ms Clare ShortBirmingham, LadywoodLabno
Dr Lynne JonesBirmingham, Selly OakLabno
Mr Roger GodsiffBirmingham, Sparkbrook and Small HeathLabno
Mrs Joan HumbleBlackpool North and FleetwoodLabno
Mr Llew SmithBlaenau GwentLabno
Mr Dennis SkinnerBolsoverLabno
Mr David CrausbyBolton North EastLabno
Dr Desmond TurnerBrighton, KemptownLabno
Ms Chris McCaffertyCalder ValleyLabno
Mr Jon Owen JonesCardiff CentralLabno
Ms Julie MorganCardiff NorthLabno
Mr Lindsay HoyleChorleyLabno
Mr Gerry SteinbergCity of DurhamLabno
Mrs Gwyneth DunwoodyCrewe and NantwichLabno
Mr Jon CruddasDagenhamLabno
Mr Andrew BennettDenton and ReddishLabno
Mr Iain LukeDundee EastLabno
Dr Gavin StrangEdinburgh East and MusselburghLabno
Mr Colin BurgonElmetLabno
Mr John AustinErith and ThamesmeadLabno
Mr Michael ConnartyFalkirk EastLabno
Dr Rudi VisFinchley and Golders GreenLabno
Mr Ian DavidsonGlasgow PollokLabno
Mr Martin CatonGowerLabno
Miss Diane AbbottHackney North and Stoke NewingtonLabno
Mr Brian SedgemoreHackney South and ShoreditchLabno
Mrs Alice MahonHalifaxLabno
Ms Glenda JacksonHampstead and HighgateLabno
Mr John McDonnellHayes and HarlingtonLabno
Mr Jon TrickettHemsworthLabno
Mr Jim DobbinHeywood and MiddletonLabno
Mr Frank DobsonHolborn and St PancrasLabno
Mr John CryerHornchurchLabno
Mr Jeremy CorbynIslington NorthLabno
Mr Kevin McNamaraKingston upon Hull NorthLabno
Dr Roger BerryKingswoodLabno
Mr George MudieLeeds EastLabno
Mr Harold BestLeeds North WestLabno
Dr Jim MarshallLeicester SouthLabno
Mr Harry CohenLeyton and WansteadLabno
Mr Tam DalyellLinlithgowLabno
Mr Peter KilfoyleLiverpool, WaltonLabno
Mr Robert WareingLiverpool, West DerbyLabno
Mr Denzil DaviesLlanelliLabno
Mr Kelvin HopkinsLuton NorthLabno
Mr Tony LloydManchester CentralLabno
Mr Robert Marshall-AndrewsMedwayLabno
Mr Dai HavardMerthyr Tydfil and RhymneyLabno
Ms Geraldine SmithMorecambe and LunesdaleLabno
Mr Jim CousinsNewcastle upon Tyne CentralLabno
Mr Doug HendersonNewcastle upon Tyne NorthLabno
Mr Paul FarrellyNewcastle-under-LymeLabno
Mr Paul FlynnNewport WestLabno
Mr Harry BarnesNorth East DerbyshireLabno
Mr David TaylorNorth West LeicestershireLabboth
Dr Ian GibsonNorwich NorthLabno
Mr Alan SimpsonNottingham SouthLabno
Mr Michael MeacherOldham West and RoytonLabno
Mr Gordon PrenticePendleLabno
Ms Helen ClarkPeterboroughLabno
Mr Tony ColmanPutneyLabno
Mr John GroganSelbyLabno
Mr Mark FisherStoke-on-Trent CentralLabno
Mr Bill EtheringtonSunderland NorthLabno
Ms Kate HoeyVauxhallLabno
Mr Neil GerrardWalthamstowLabno
Mr Robert JacksonWantagewhilst Conaye
Mr Rob MarrisWolverhampton South WestLabno
Mr Terry LewisWorsleyLabno
Mr Ian LucasWrexhamLabno
Mr Albert OwenYnys MônLabno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive