Security Screen — 22 Apr 2004 at 16:07

Mr Dennis Skinner MP, Bolsover voted in the minority (No).

I beg to move,

That this House approves the installation of a permanent security screen between the Chamber and the Strangers' Gallery.

I beg to move amendment (a), in line 1, leave out "approves" and insert "declines to approve".

Question put, That the Question be now put:-

The House divided: Ayes 120, Noes 66.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con22 34 (+2 tell)035.6%
Lab95 (+2 tell) 7025.5%
LDem3 20042.6%
PC0 40100.0%
UUP0 1020.0%
Total:120 66030.0%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Mr Peter AinsworthEast SurreyConaye
Mr Richard BaconSouth NorfolkConaye
Mrs Angela BrowningTiverton and HonitonConaye
Mr Alistair BurtNorth East BedfordshireConaye
Sir Sydney ChapmanChipping BarnetConaye
Mr Geoffrey Clifton-BrownCotswoldConaye
Mr Derek ConwayOld Bexley and SidcupConaye
Sir Patrick CormackSouth StaffordshireConaye
Mr Jonathan DjanoglyHuntingdonConaye
Mr Nick GibbBognor Regis and LittlehamptonConaye
Mr John GreenwayRyedaleConaye
Mr Oliver HealdNorth East HertfordshireConaye
Mr Charles HendryWealdenConaye
Mrs Eleanor LaingEpping ForestConaye
Mr Peter LuffMid WorcestershireConaye
Mr David MacleanPenrith and The BorderConaye
Dr Brian MawhinneyNorth West CambridgeshireConaye
Mr Patrick McLoughlinWest DerbyshireConaye
Mr Patrick MercerNewarkConaye
Mr David RuffleyBury St EdmundsConaye
Mr Andrew TyrieChichesterConaye
Mr Robert WalterNorth DorsetConaye
Mr Colin ChallenMorley and RothwellLabno
Ms Kate HoeyVauxhallLabno
Mr Andrew MacKinlayThurrockLabno
Mr Robert Marshall-AndrewsMedwayLabno
Mr Siôn SimonBirmingham, ErdingtonLabno
Mr Alan SimpsonNottingham SouthLabno
Mr Dennis SkinnerBolsoverLabno
Mr Paul BurstowSutton and CheamLDemaye
Mr Brian CotterWeston-Super-MareLDemaye
Mr Archy KirkwoodRoxburgh and BerwickshireLDemaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive