Security Screen — 22 Apr 2004 at 16:34

Mr Hugo Swire MP, East Devon voted in the minority (No).

Question accordingly negatived.

Main Question put:-

The House divided: Ayes 112, Noes 76.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con21 35034.4%
Lab82 (+2 tell) 22 (+1 tell)026.2%
LDem7 15 (+1 tell)042.6%
PC0 40100.0%
UUP2 0040.0%
Total:112 76030.3%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Mr James ArbuthnotNorth East HampshireConaye
Mr Peter AtkinsonHexhamConaye
Mrs Angela BrowningTiverton and HonitonConaye
Mr Alistair BurtNorth East BedfordshireConaye
Sir Sydney ChapmanChipping BarnetConaye
Mr Derek ConwayOld Bexley and SidcupConaye
Sir Patrick CormackSouth StaffordshireConaye
Mr Jonathan DjanoglyHuntingdonConaye
Mr Nick GibbBognor Regis and LittlehamptonConaye
Mr John GreenwayRyedaleConaye
Mr Oliver HealdNorth East HertfordshireConaye
Mr Charles HendryWealdenConaye
Mrs Eleanor LaingEpping ForestConaye
Mr David LidingtonAylesburyConaye
Mr Peter LuffMid WorcestershireConaye
Mr David MacleanPenrith and The BorderConaye
Mr Patrick McLoughlinWest DerbyshireConaye
Mr Patrick MercerNewarkConaye
Mr Andrew TyrieChichesterConaye
Mr Nigel WatersonEastbourneConaye
Sir George YoungNorth West HampshireConaye
Mr Tony BanksWest HamLabno
Mr Peter BradleyThe WrekinLabno
Mr Ian CawseyBrigg and GooleLabno
Mr Colin ChallenMorley and RothwellLabno
Mr Tony ClarkeNorthampton SouthLabno
Mrs Valerie DaveyBristol WestLabno
Mr Andrew DismoreHendonLabno
Mr David DrewStroudLabno
Mr Mark FisherStoke-on-Trent CentralLabno
Ms Kate HoeyVauxhallLabno
Dr Brian IddonBolton South EastLabno
Ms Sally KeebleNorthampton NorthLabno
Mr David KidneyStaffordLabno
Miss Judy MallaberAmber ValleyLabno
Mr Robert Marshall-AndrewsMedwayLabno
Mr Kevin McNamaraKingston upon Hull NorthLabno
Mr Tony McWalterHemel HempsteadLabno
Mr James PlaskittWarwick and LeamingtonLabno
Ms Clare ShortBirmingham, LadywoodLabno
Mr Siôn SimonBirmingham, ErdingtonLabno
Mr Alan SimpsonNottingham SouthLabtellno
Mr Dennis SkinnerBolsoverLabno
Mr Derek WyattSittingbourne and SheppeyLabno
Mr Alan BeithBerwick-upon-TweedLDemaye
Ms Annette BrookeMid Dorset and North PooleLDemaye
Mr Edward DaveyKingston and SurbitonLDemaye
Mr Don FosterBathLDemaye
Mr Archy KirkwoodRoxburgh and BerwickshireLDemaye
Mr Norman LambNorth NorfolkLDemaye
Mr Alan ReidArgyll and ButeLDemaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive