Children Bill [HL] — 5 Jul 2004 at 14:30

was absent

Resolved in the negative and amendment disagreed to accordingly.

<[i>Amendment No. 106A had been withdrawn from the Marshalled List.]

moved Amendment No. 106B:

After Clause 48, insert the following new clause-


(1) In relation to any offence specified in subsection (2), battery of a child cannot be justified on the ground that it constituted reasonable punishment.

(2) The offences referred to in subsection (1) are-

(a) an offence under section 18 or 20 of the Offences against the Person Act 1861 (c. 100) (wounding and causing grievous bodily harm);

(b) an offence under section 47 of that Act (assault occasioning actual bodily harm);

(c) an offence under section 1 of the Children and Young Persons Act 1933 (c. 12) (cruelty to persons under 16).

(3) Battery of a child causing actual bodily harm to the child cannot be justified in any civil proceedings on the ground that it constituted reasonable punishment.

(4) For the purposes of subsection (3) "actual bodily harm" has the same meaning as it has for the purposes of section 47 of the Offences against the Person Act 1861 (c. 100).

(5) In section 1 of the Children and Young Persons Act 1933 (c. 12), omit subsection (7)."

<[i>Amendments Nos. 106C to 106E not moved.]

On Question, Whether the said amendment (No. 106B) shall be agreed to?

Their Lordships divided: Contents, 226; Not-Contents, 91.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Content)Minority (Not-Content)Turnout
Bishop1 03.8%
Con27 65 (+2 tell)44.5%
Crossbench36 926.6%
Green1 0100.0%
Independent Labour0 1100.0%
Lab123 (+1 tell) 766.5%
LDem32 (+1 tell) 760.6%
Other3 030.0%
UUP1 033.3%
Total:224 8946.3%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Bowness Conaye
Brooke of Sutton MandevilleConaye
Buscombe Con (front bench)aye
Carnegy of LourConaye
Crathorne Conaye
Cumberlege Conaye
Hayhoe Conaye
Henley Conaye
Howe of AberavonConaye
Hunt of WirralConaye
Kingsland Con (front bench)aye
Laidlaw Conaye
The of LiverpoolConaye
Lyell Conaye
Marlesford Conaye
Mayhew of TwysdenConaye
Montagu of BeaulieuConaye
The of MontroseCon (front bench)aye
Murton of LindisfarneConaye
Newton of BraintreeConaye
Northbrook Conaye
The of OnslowConaye
Peel Conaye
Roberts of ConwyCon (front bench)aye
The of SelborneConaye
Soulsby of Swaffham PriorConaye
St John of FawsleyConaye
Ackner Crossbenchno
Bledisloe Crossbenchno
Chan Crossbenchno
Elis-Thomas Crossbenchno
The of ErrollCrossbenchno
Greenway Crossbenchno
Kilclooney Crossbenchno
Monson Crossbenchno
Saltoun of AbernethyCrossbenchno
Dixon Labno
Evans of ParksideLabno
Hughes of WoodsideLabno
Jordan Labno
Mason of BarnsleyLabno
Morgan Labno
Rendell of BaberghLabno
Falkland LDem (front bench)no
Hooson LDemno
Miller of Chilthorne DomerLDem (front bench)no
Sharp of GuildfordLDem (front bench)no
Thomas of GresfordLDem (front bench)no
Thomas of WalliswoodLDem (front bench)no
Walmsley LDem (front bench)no

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive