Iraq — Adjournment Debate — 20 Jul 2004 at 19:39

Mr Stuart Bell MP, Middlesbrough voted with the majority (No).

The motion was "That this House do now adjourn", which is a procedural motion that allows an open debate.

The debate was opened by the Prime Minister ".

It is not clear what voting for or against this motion would actually mean, but the No-voters rejected the motion, so the House carried on to a debate on the Asylum and Immigration Bill.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con0 201.2%
DUP3 0050.0%
Lab250 (+2 tell) 30 (+2 tell)069.8%
LDem0 203.6%
PC0 2050.0%
SNP0 50100.0%
UUP2 0040.0%
Total:255 41046.5%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Miss Diane AbbottHackney North and Stoke NewingtonLabaye
Mr Harry BarnesNorth East DerbyshireLabaye
Dr Roger BerryKingswoodLabaye
Mr Ronnie CampbellBlyth ValleyLabaye
Mr Tony ClarkeNorthampton SouthLabaye
Mr Harry CohenLeyton and WansteadLabaye
Mr Jeremy CorbynIslington NorthLabaye
Mr John CryerHornchurchLabaye
Mr Tam DalyellLinlithgowLabaye
Mr Denzil DaviesLlanelliLabaye
Mr David DrewStroudLabaye
Mr Clive EffordElthamLabaye
Mr Mark FisherStoke-on-Trent CentralLabaye
Mr Paul FlynnNewport WestLabaye
Mr Neil GerrardWalthamstowLabaye
Dr Ian GibsonNorwich NorthLabaye
Mr Kelvin HopkinsLuton NorthLabtellaye
Dr Lynne JonesBirmingham, Selly OakLabaye
Mrs Alice MahonHalifaxLabaye
Mr Robert Marshall-AndrewsMedwayLabaye
Mr John McDonnellHayes and HarlingtonLabaye
Mrs Diana OrganForest of DeanLabaye
Mr Gordon PrenticePendleLabaye
Mr Phil SawfordKetteringLabaye
Mr Brian SedgemoreHackney South and ShoreditchLabaye
Mr Alan SimpsonNottingham SouthLabaye
Mr Marsha SinghBradford WestLabaye
Mr Dennis SkinnerBolsoverLabaye
Mr Llew SmithBlaenau GwentLabaye
Mr David TaylorNorth West LeicestershireLabtellaye
Mr Jon TrickettHemsworthLabaye
Mr Robert WareingLiverpool, West DerbyLabaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive