Removal of References to Strangers — 26 Oct 2004 at 18:44

Mr Jim Murphy MP, East Renfrewshire voted with the majority (Teller for the Ayes).

Motion made, and Question put,

That, with effect from the beginning of the next Session of Parliament, the following amendments be made to the Standing Orders of the House:
No. 89 (Procedure in standing committees): in paragraph (2), leave out 'Strangers' and insert 'The public';
No. 125 (Strangers (select committees)): leave out the title and insert 'Select committees (admission of the public)'; and in paragraph (1), leave out 'strangers' and insert 'the public';
No. 149 (Committee on Standards and Privileges): in paragraph (8), leave out 'strangers' and insert 'the public';
No. 161 (Duties of Serjeant at Arms with respect to strangers): in the title, leave out 'strangers' and insert 'the public'; in paragraph (1), leave out 'stranger' in the two places where it appears and insert 'member of the public' in each place, and leave out 'strangers' and insert 'the public'; and in paragraph (2), leave out 'strangers' and insert 'members of the public'.
No. 162 (Places to which strangers are not admitted): in the title, leave out 'strangers' and insert 'the public'; and, in the Standing Order, leave out 'stranger' and insert 'member of the public'.-[Mr. Woolas.]

The House divided: Ayes 242, Noes 167.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con7 97 (+2 tell)065.0%
DUP0 60100.0%
Ind1 0050.0%
Lab196 (+2 tell) 57062.7%
LDem31 4063.6%
PC3 0075.0%
SNP4 0080.0%
UUP0 3060.0%
Total:242 167063.8%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Mr John BercowBuckinghamConaye
Mr Stephen DorrellCharnwoodConaye
Mr Damian GreenAshfordConaye
Mr Patrick McLoughlinWest DerbyshireConaye
Dr Andrew MurrisonWestburyConaye
Mr David WillettsHavantConaye
Sir George YoungNorth West HampshireConaye
Mr Nigel BeardBexleyheath and CrayfordLabno
Mr Michael ClaphamBarnsley West and PenistoneLabno
Mr Vernon CoakerGedlingLabno
Mr David CrausbyBolton North EastLabno
Mr Ian DavidsonGlasgow PollokLabno
Mr Andrew DismoreHendonLabno
Mr Jim DobbinHeywood and MiddletonLabno
Mr Brian H DonohoeCunninghame SouthLabno
Mrs Gwyneth DunwoodyCrewe and NantwichLabno
Mr Jim FitzpatrickPoplar and Canning TownLabno
Mr Hywel FrancisAberavonLabno
Mr Tom HarrisGlasgow CathcartLabno
Mr Ivan HendersonHarwichLabno
Mr Mark HendrickPrestonLabno
Ms Kate HoeyVauxhallLabno
Mr Kelvin HopkinsLuton NorthLabno
Dr Kim HowellsPontypriddLabno
Ms Beverley HughesStretford and UrmstonLabno
Mr Alan HurstBraintreeLabno
Mr Brian JenkinsTamworthLabno
Mr Kevan JonesNorth DurhamLabno
Mr Martyn JonesClwyd SouthLabno
Dr Stephen LadymanSouth ThanetLabno
Mrs Jackie LawrencePreseli PembrokeshireLabno
Mr Bob LaxtonDerby NorthLabno
Mr Ivan LewisBury SouthLabno
Mr Andrew LoveEdmontonLabno
Mr John MacDougallCentral FifeLabno
Mr Khalid MahmoodBirmingham, Perry BarrLabno
Mr Eric MartlewCarlisleLabno
Mr Thomas McAvoyGlasgow RutherglenLabno
Mrs Rosemary McKennaCumbernauld and KilsythLabno
Mr Tony McNultyHarrow EastLabno
Mr Alan MealeMansfieldLabno
Mr Alun MichaelCardiff South and PenarthLabno
Dr Lewis MoonieKirkcaldyLabno
Mr Edward O'HaraKnowsley SouthLabno
Mr Bill OlnerNuneatonLabno
Mrs Diana OrganForest of DeanLabno
Mr Ian PearsonDudley SouthLabno
Mr Colin PickthallWest LancashireLabno
Ms Bridget PrenticeLewisham EastLabno
Mr John RobertsonGlasgow AnnieslandLabno
Mr Mohammad SarwarGlasgow GovanLabno
Mr Jonathan R ShawChatham and AylesfordLabno
Mr Barry SheermanHuddersfieldLabno
Ms Angela SmithBasildonLabno
Ms Helen SouthworthWarrington SouthLabno
Ms Rachel SquireDunfermline WestLabno
Mr Gerry SteinbergCity of DurhamLabno
Dr Gavin StrangEdinburgh East and MusselburghLabno
Mr Graham StringerManchester, BlackleyLabno
Mrs Ann TaylorDewsburyLabno
Mr Don TouhigIslwynLabno
Mr Dennis TurnerWolverhampton South EastLabno
Ms Rosie WintertonDoncaster CentralLabno
Mr David WrightTelfordLabno
Mr Menzies CampbellNorth East FifeLDemno
Mr Edward DaveyKingston and SurbitonLDemno
Mr Lembit ÖpikMontgomeryshireLDemno
Mr Adrian SandersTorbayLDemno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive