Members' Allowances — 3 Nov 2004 at 15:51

Mr Michael Clapham MP, Barnsley West and Penistone voted in the minority (Aye).

Mileage rates will no longer be uprated annually.

Instead they will be the highest of the current rate and the Inland Revenue car mileage rates.

The higher rate car mileage allowance will be payable for the first 20,000 miles.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con28 62 (+1 tell)055.8%
DUP0 3050.0%
Ind0 1050.0%
Lab129 (+2 tell) 43 (+1 tell)043.0%
LDem36 5074.5%
UUP0 4080.0%
Total:193 118049.4%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Mr James ArbuthnotNorth East HampshireConno
Mr Henry BellinghamNorth West NorfolkConno
Sir Sydney ChapmanChipping BarnetConno
Mr Derek ConwayOld Bexley and SidcupConno
Mr Peter DuncanGalloway and Upper NithsdaleConno
Mr Michael FallonSevenoaksConno
Mr Mark FieldCities of London and WestminsterConno
Mr Paul GoodmanWycombeConno
Mr Dominic GrieveBeaconsfieldConno
Mr David Heathcoat-AmoryWellsConno
Mr John HoramOrpingtonConno
Mr Robert KeySalisburyConno
Mr Andrew LansleySouth CambridgeshireConno
Dr Julian LewisNew Forest EastConno
Mr David LidingtonAylesburyConno
Mrs Theresa MayMaidenheadConno
Mr Andrew MitchellSutton ColdfieldConno
Dr Andrew MurrisonWestburyConno
Mr Eric PicklesBrentwood and OngarConno
Mr Michael PortilloKensington and ChelseaConno
Mr John RandallUxbridgeConno
Mr Andrew RobathanBlabyConno
Mr Hugh RobertsonFaversham and Mid KentConno
Mr Andrew SelousSouth West BedfordshireConno
Dr Bob SpinkCastle PointConno
Mr Desmond SwayneNew Forest WestConno
Mr John TaylorSolihullConno
Sir George YoungNorth West HampshireConno
Mrs Irene AdamsPaisley NorthLabaye
Mr Graham AllenNottingham NorthLabaye
Mr Kevin BarronRother ValleyLabaye
Mr Clive BettsSheffield, AttercliffeLabaye
Mr Ronnie CampbellBlyth ValleyLabaye
Mr Michael ClaphamBarnsley West and PenistoneLabaye
Ms Ann ClwydCynon ValleyLabaye
Mr Michael ConnartyFalkirk EastLabaye
Mr Tom CoxTootingLabaye
Mr Jim CunninghamCoventry SouthLabaye
Mr Ian DavidsonGlasgow PollokLabaye
Mr Jim DobbinHeywood and MiddletonLabaye
Mr Frank DobsonHolborn and St PancrasLabaye
Mr Brian H DonohoeCunninghame SouthLabaye
Mr Jim DowdLewisham WestLabaye
Mrs Gwyneth DunwoodyCrewe and NantwichLabaye
Mr Mike HallWeaver ValeLabaye
Mr David HamiltonMidlothianLabaye
Mr Dai HavardMerthyr Tydfil and RhymneyLabaye
Mr Mark HendrickPrestonLabaye
Mr Jimmy HoodClydesdaleLabaye
Mr Kevin HughesDoncaster NorthLabaye
Dr Brian IddonBolton South EastLabaye
Mr Eric IllsleyBarnsley CentralLabaye
Mr Brian JenkinsTamworthLabaye
Mr Kevan JonesNorth DurhamLabaye
Mr Martyn JonesClwyd SouthLabaye
Mr Iain LukeDundee EastLabaye
Mrs Alice MahonHalifaxLabaye
Mr David MarshallGlasgow ShettlestonLabaye
Mrs Rosemary McKennaCumbernauld and KilsythLabaye
Mr Tony McWalterHemel HempsteadLabaye
Mr Austin MitchellGreat GrimsbyLabaye
Dr Lewis MoonieKirkcaldyLabaye
Mr Martin O'NeillOchilLabaye
Mr Stephen PoundEaling NorthLabaye
Mr Ken PurchaseWolverhampton North EastLabtellaye
Mr John RobertsonGlasgow AnnieslandLabaye
Mr Frank RoyMotherwell and WishawLabaye
Mr Barry SheermanHuddersfieldLabaye
Mr Alan SimpsonNottingham SouthLabaye
Mr Ian StewartEcclesLabaye
Mr Bill TynanHamilton SouthLabaye
Mr Robert WareingLiverpool, West DerbyLabaye
Mr Matthew GreenLudlowLDemaye
Mr Nick HarveyNorth DevonLDemaye
Mr Matthew TaylorTruro and St AustellLDemaye
Viscount John ThursoCaithness, Sutherland and Easter RossLDemaye
Mr Richard Younger-RossTeignbridgeLDemaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive