Election of an MP to more than one seat — 3 Nov 2004 at 19:17

Mr Tim Loughton MP, East Worthing and Shoreham voted in the minority (No).

Those who voted Aye agreed that "this House takes note of" the Third Report of the Procedure Committee, Session 2002–03, on Sessional Orders and Resolutions, HC 855, and the Government's Response thereto (published as the Committee's Third Special Report of the current Session, HC 613); approves the proposals set out in paragraphs 9, 10 and 25 of the Report for changes in the practice of the House at the beginning of each Session; and, as recommended in paragraph 9(b), makes the following provision:

All Members of this House who are returned for two or more places in any part of the United Kingdom should choose for which of the places they will serve, within one week after it appears that there is no question about their election for that place.

The majority of the debate was, however, about paragraph 25 and the effect its recommendations were intended have on criminalizing Brian Haw's protest camp in Parliament Square. This may have been what some of the MPs were voting against.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con31 13 (+1 tell)228.8%
DUP0 3050.0%
Ind0 1050.0%
Lab95 (+2 tell) 16027.8%
LDem2 31 (+1 tell)061.8%
PC0 1025.0%
SNP0 50100.0%
UUP0 3060.0%
Total:128 73232.0%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Mr Peter DuncanGalloway and Upper NithsdaleConno
Mr Eric ForthBromley and ChislehurstContellno
Mr James GrayNorth WiltshireConno
Mr Gerald HowarthAldershotConno
Mrs Eleanor LaingEpping ForestConno
Mr Peter LilleyHitchin and HarpendenConno
Mr Tim LoughtonEast Worthing and ShorehamConno
Mrs Anne McIntoshVale of YorkConno
Mr John RedwoodWokinghamConno
Mr Laurence RobertsonTewkesburyConno
Dr Bob SpinkCastle PointConno
Mr Desmond SwayneNew Forest WestConno
Mr Robert SymsPooleConno
Mr John TaylorSolihullConno
Mr David AmessSouthend WestConboth
Mr Andrew RobathanBlabyConboth
Mr Michael ClaphamBarnsley West and PenistoneLabno
Mr Jeremy CorbynIslington NorthLabno
Mr Jon CruddasDagenhamLabno
Mr Jim CunninghamCoventry SouthLabno
Mr David DrewStroudLabno
Mrs Gwyneth DunwoodyCrewe and NantwichLabno
Ms Kate HoeyVauxhallLabno
Mr Brian JenkinsTamworthLabno
Mr David LepperBrighton, PavilionLabno
Mr Iain LukeDundee EastLabno
Mr Andrew MacKinlayThurrockLabno
Mrs Alice MahonHalifaxLabno
Mr John McDonnellHayes and HarlingtonLabno
Mr Austin MitchellGreat GrimsbyLabno
Mr Alan SimpsonNottingham SouthLabno
Mr Dennis SkinnerBolsoverLabno
Mr John BurnettTorridge and West DevonLDemaye
Sir Robert SmithWest Aberdeenshire and KincardineLDemaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive