Housing Bill — Decent Homes Standard for Social Housing — 8 Nov 2004 at 21:30

Mr Jeremy Corbyn MP, Islington North voted in the minority (No).

I beg to move, That this House disagrees with the Lords in the said amendment.

Yes, it is me again. The new clause proposed by the amendment would require the Secretary of State to ensure that, by 2016, all existing social housing stock should, as far as is reasonably practicable, achieve a SAP rating-an energy rating under the standard assessment procedure-of no lower than 65, which would amount to a change in the decent homes standard. I refer to that point because material circulated among Members recognises that the decent homes standard is the Government's vehicle for the delivery of heating and thermal comfort.

Question put, That this House disagrees with the Lords in the said amendment:-

The House divided: Ayes 265, Noes 156.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con0 114 (+2 tell)071.2%
DUP0 3050.0%
Ind0 1050.0%
Lab265 (+2 tell) 16069.5%
LDem0 18032.7%
PC0 2050.0%
UUP0 2040.0%
Total:265 156066.2%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Mr Harry BarnesNorth East DerbyshireLabno
Mr Martin CatonGowerLabno
Mr Jeremy CorbynIslington NorthLabno
Mr Clive EffordElthamLabno
Mrs Barbara FollettStevenageLabno
Mr John GroganSelbyLabno
Dr Lynne JonesBirmingham, Selly OakLabno
Mr Terry LewisWorsleyLabno
Mrs Alice MahonHalifaxLabno
Mr Alan MealeMansfieldLabno
Mr Gordon PrenticePendleLabno
Ms Joan RuddockLewisham, DeptfordLabno
Mr Alan SimpsonNottingham SouthLabno
Mr Llew SmithBlaenau GwentLabno
Mr David TaylorNorth West LeicestershireLabno
Mr Robert WareingLiverpool, West DerbyLabno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive