Hunting Bill — 18 Nov 2004 at 14:47

Ms Ruth Kelly MP, Bolton West voted in the minority (Aye).

Question accordingly negatived.

Main Question put:-

The House divided: Ayes 46, Noes 345.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con76 (+2 tell) 1149.1%
DUP1 0016.7%
Ind1 0050.0%
Lab232 32 (+2 tell)165.6%
LDem28 11070.9%
PC3 0075.0%
UUP2 0040.0%
Total:343 44261.2%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Mr Nicholas WintertonMacclesfieldConaye
Dr Bob SpinkCastle PointConboth
Mr Nick AingerCarmarthen West and South PembrokeshireLab (minister)aye
Mr Bob AinsworthCoventry North EastLab (minister)aye
Ms Hilary ArmstrongNorth West DurhamLab (minister)aye
Miss Margaret BeckettDerby SouthLab (minister)aye
Mr Paul BoatengBrent SouthLab (minister)aye
Mr Paul ClarkGillinghamLab (minister)tellaye
Mr Tony ColmanPutneyLabaye
Mr Tom CoxTootingLabaye
Mr Alistair DarlingEdinburgh CentralLab (minister)aye
Mr David DrewStroudLabaye
Mr Mark FisherStoke-on-Trent CentralLabaye
Mr John GroganSelbyLabaye
Mr Peter HainNeathLab (minister)aye
Mr David HansonDelynLab (PPS)aye
Mrs Margaret HodgeBarkingLab (minister)aye
Mr Alan HurstBraintreeLabaye
Mr John HuttonBarrow and FurnessLab (minister)aye
Mr Adam IngramEast KilbrideLab (minister)aye
Mr Huw Irranca-DaviesOgmoreLab (PPS)aye
Ms Ruth KellyBolton WestLab (minister)aye
Mr Calum MacDonaldNa h-Eileanan an IarLabaye
Mr John MannBassetlawLabaye
Mr Thomas McAvoyGlasgow RutherglenLab (minister)aye
Mrs Anne McGuireStirlingLab (minister)aye
Mr Alun MichaelCardiff South and PenarthLab (minister)aye
Mr Jim MurphyEast RenfrewshireLab (minister)tellaye
Mr James PurnellStalybridge and HydeLab (PPS)aye
Mr Lawrie QuinnScarborough and WhitbyLab (PPS)aye
Ms Gisela StuartBirmingham, EdgbastonLabaye
Mr David TaylorNorth West LeicestershireLabaye
Mr Don TouhigIslwynLab (minister)aye
Mr Michael WillsNorth SwindonLabaye
Mr Phil WoolasOldham East and SaddleworthLab (minister)aye
Dr Tony WrightCannock ChaseLabaye
Mr Barry SheermanHuddersfieldLabboth
Mr Richard AllanSheffield, HallamLDem (front bench)aye
Mr Menzies CampbellNorth East FifeLDem (front bench)aye
Mr Andrew GeorgeSt IvesLDem (front bench)aye
Dr Evan HarrisOxford West and AbingdonLDemaye
Mr David HeathSomerton and FromeLDem (front bench)aye
Mr Simon HughesNorth Southwark and BermondseyLDemaye
Mr Archy KirkwoodRoxburgh and BerwickshireLDemaye
Mr David LawsYeovilLDem (front bench)aye
Mr Michael MooreTweeddale, Ettrick and LauderdaleLDem (front bench)aye
Mr Paul TylerNorth CornwallLDem (front bench)aye
Mr Richard Younger-RossTeignbridgeLDem (front bench)aye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive