Mental Capacity Bill — New Clause 1 — Excluded decisions — 14 Dec 2004 at 15:15

Dr Richard Taylor MP, Wyre Forest voted in the minority (Aye).

I beg to move, That the clause be read a Second time.

Question put, That the clause be read a Second time:-

The House divided: Ayes 203, Noes 297.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con1 118 (+2 tell)074.2%
DUP0 3042.9%
Ind0 20100.0%
Lab290 (+2 tell) 34080.1%
LDem6 40083.6%
PC0 3075.0%
SDLP0 1033.3%
UUP0 2040.0%
Total:297 203078.0%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Mr Crispin BluntReigateCon (front bench)no
Mr John BattleLeeds WestLabaye
Mr Joe BentonBootleLabaye
Mr Ronnie CampbellBlyth ValleyLabaye
Mr Tom ClarkeCoatbridge and ChrystonLabaye
Mr Tony ColmanPutneyLabaye
Mr Tom CoxTootingLabaye
Mr David CrausbyBolton North EastLabaye
Mr John CummingsEasingtonLabaye
Mr Jim CunninghamCoventry SouthLabaye
Ms Claire Curtis-ThomasCrosbyLabaye
Mr Denzil DaviesLlanelliLabaye
Mr Hilton DawsonLancaster and WyreLabaye
Mr Jim DobbinHeywood and MiddletonLabaye
Mr Frank FieldBirkenheadLabaye
Mr Mark FisherStoke-on-Trent CentralLabaye
Ms Kate HoeyVauxhallLabaye
Mr Jimmy HoodClydesdaleLabaye
Mr Lindsay HoyleChorleyLabaye
Dr Brian IddonBolton South EastLabaye
Mr Peter KilfoyleLiverpool, WaltonLabaye
Mr Andy KingRugby and KenilworthLabaye
Mr John LyonsStrathkelvin and BearsdenLabaye
Mr Calum MacDonaldNa h-Eileanan an IarLabaye
Mr Andrew MacKinlayThurrockLabaye
Mr George MudieLeeds EastLabaye
Mr Edward O'HaraKnowsley SouthLabaye
Mr Kerry PollardSt AlbansLabaye
Mr Frank RoyMotherwell and WishawLabaye
Mr Marsha SinghBradford WestLabaye
Ms Geraldine SmithMorecambe and LunesdaleLabaye
Mr David TaylorNorth West LeicestershireLabaye
Mr Bill TynanHamilton SouthLabaye
Mr Robert WareingLiverpool, West DerbyLabaye
Mr Jimmy WrayGlasgow BailliestonLabaye
Mr John BarrettEdinburgh WestLDem (front bench)no
Ms Patsy CaltonCheadleLDem (front bench)no
Mr Paul HolmesChesterfieldLDem (front bench)no
Mr Mark OatenWinchesterLDem (front bench)no
Mr Lembit ÖpikMontgomeryshireLDem (front bench)no
Dr Jenny TongeRichmond ParkLDemno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive