Mental Capacity Bill — New Clause 2 — Excluded decisions (No. 2) — 14 Dec 2004 at 15:45

Mr Kevan Jones MP, North Durham voted with the majority (No).

'(1) Nothing in this Act authorises the withdrawal of palliative care.

(2) "palliative care" includes the provision of-

(a) relief of pain, suffering and discomfort;

(b) nutrition and hydration, however provided.

(3) The provisions of subsection (1) do not apply to-

(a) a decision that nutrition and hydration is to be discontinued because it would be unreasonably burdensome to the person; or

(b) the power of the court to make such order concerning the continuance of life sustaining treatment as it considers to be in the best interests of a person whom it has determined to be irreversibly unconscious.'.-[Ann Winterton.]

Brought up, and read the First time.

Question put, That the clause be read a Second time:-

The House divided: Ayes 198, Noes 296.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con2 115 (+1 tell)072.4%
DUP0 4057.1%
Ind0 20100.0%
Lab287 (+2 tell) 32 (+1 tell)079.1%
LDem6 40083.6%
PC1 2075.0%
SDLP0 1033.3%
UUP0 2040.0%
Total:296 198077.1%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Mr Crispin BluntReigateConno
Mr Robert JacksonWantagewhilst Conno
Mr John BattleLeeds WestLabaye
Mr Joe BentonBootleLabaye
Mr Ronnie CampbellBlyth ValleyLabaye
Mr Tom ClarkeCoatbridge and ChrystonLabaye
Mr Tony ColmanPutneyLabaye
Mr Tom CoxTootingLabaye
Mr David CrausbyBolton North EastLabaye
Mr John CummingsEasingtonLabaye
Mr Jim CunninghamCoventry SouthLabaye
Ms Claire Curtis-ThomasCrosbyLabaye
Mr Denzil DaviesLlanelliLabaye
Mr Jim DobbinHeywood and MiddletonLabaye
Mr Frank FieldBirkenheadLabaye
Mr Mark FisherStoke-on-Trent CentralLabaye
Ms Kate HoeyVauxhallLabaye
Mr Lindsay HoyleChorleyLabaye
Dr Brian IddonBolton South EastLabaye
Ms Helen JonesWarrington NorthLabaye
Mr Peter KilfoyleLiverpool, WaltonLabaye
Mr Andy KingRugby and KenilworthLabaye
Mr John LyonsStrathkelvin and BearsdenLabaye
Mr Calum MacDonaldNa h-Eileanan an IarLabaye
Mr Andrew MacKinlayThurrockLabaye
Mr George MudieLeeds EastLabaye
Mr Edward O'HaraKnowsley SouthLabaye
Mr Kerry PollardSt AlbansLabtellaye
Mr Greg PopeHyndburnLabaye
Mr Frank RoyMotherwell and WishawLabaye
Mr Marsha SinghBradford WestLabaye
Ms Geraldine SmithMorecambe and LunesdaleLabaye
Mr David TaylorNorth West LeicestershireLabaye
Mr Robert WareingLiverpool, West DerbyLabaye
Mr Jimmy WrayGlasgow BailliestonLabaye
Mr John BarrettEdinburgh WestLDemno
Ms Patsy CaltonCheadleLDemno
Mr Paul HolmesChesterfieldLDemno
Mr Mark OatenWinchesterLDemno
Mr Lembit ÖpikMontgomeryshireLDemno
Dr Jenny TongeRichmond ParkLDemno
Mr Simon ThomasCeredigionPCno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive