Mental Capacity Bill — New Clause 5 — Appointment of independent advocates (No. 2) — 14 Dec 2004 at 17:15

Mr David Laws MP, Yeovil voted in the minority (Aye).

I beg to move, That the clause be read a Second time.

Question put, That the clause be read a Second time:-

The House divided: Ayes 106, Noes 345.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con20 44039.3%
DUP0 4057.1%
Lab324 (+2 tell) 5181.6%
LDem0 48 (+2 tell)090.9%
PC0 2050.0%
UUP0 2040.0%
Total:344 105170.8%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Mr David AmessSouthend WestConno
Mr John BercowBuckinghamConno
Sir Sydney ChapmanChipping BarnetConno
Mr Kenneth ClarkeRushcliffeConno
Mr Derek ConwayOld Bexley and SidcupConno
Mr David CurrySkipton and RiponConno
Mr Jonathan DjanoglyHuntingdonConno
Mr Stephen DorrellCharnwoodConno
Mr Edward GarnierHarboroughConno
Mr William HagueRichmond (Yorks)Conno
Mr Edward LeighGainsboroughConno
Mr Peter LuffMid WorcestershireConno
Mr John RedwoodWokinghamConno
Mr Hugh RobertsonFaversham and Mid KentConno
Mr Andrew RosindellRomfordConno
Mr Anthony SteenTotnesConno
Mr Andrew TyrieChichesterConno
Mr Peter ViggersGosportConno
Mrs Angela WatkinsonUpminsterConno
Mr John WilkinsonRuislip - NorthwoodConno
Dr Brian IddonBolton South EastLabaye
Dr Lynne JonesBirmingham, Selly OakLabaye
Mr Andrew MacKinlayThurrockLabaye
Mr Kerry PollardSt AlbansLabaye
Mr David TaylorNorth West LeicestershireLabaye
Mr Jim DobbinHeywood and MiddletonLabboth

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive