Mental Capacity Bill — Clause 24 — Advance decisions to refuse treatment: general — 14 Dec 2004 at 17:47

Mr Chris Grayling MP, Epsom and Ewell voted in the minority (Aye).

Amendment proposed: No. 32, in page 14, line 10, leave out clause 24.-[Dr. Iddon.]

Question put, That the amendment be made:-

The House divided: Ayes 110, Noes 366.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con15 88 (+2 tell)064.4%
DUP0 5071.4%
Ind1 0050.0%
Lab314 (+2 tell) 14081.1%
LDem34 0061.8%
PC2 0050.0%
SDLP0 1033.3%
UUP0 2040.0%
Total:366 110074.3%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Mr Peter AtkinsonHexhamConno
Mr John BercowBuckinghamConno
Mr Crispin BluntReigateConno
Mr Tim BoswellDaventryConno
Mr Peter BottomleyWorthing WestConno
Mrs Angela BrowningTiverton and HonitonConno
Mr Kenneth ClarkeRushcliffeConno
Mr Geoffrey Clifton-BrownCotswoldConno
Mr David CurrySkipton and RiponConno
Mr Stephen DorrellCharnwoodConno
Mr Robert JacksonWantagewhilst Conno
Mr Tim LoughtonEast Worthing and ShorehamConno
Mr Anthony SteenTotnesConno
Mr Andrew TyrieChichesterConno
Sir George YoungNorth West HampshireConno
Mr John BattleLeeds WestLabaye
Mr Ronnie CampbellBlyth ValleyLabaye
Mr David CrausbyBolton North EastLabaye
Mr Denzil DaviesLlanelliLabaye
Mr Jim DobbinHeywood and MiddletonLabaye
Mr David DrewStroudLabaye
Mr Lindsay HoyleChorleyLabaye
Dr Brian IddonBolton South EastLabaye
Mr Andy KingRugby and KenilworthLabaye
Mr Andrew MacKinlayThurrockLabaye
Mr George MudieLeeds EastLabaye
Mr Kerry PollardSt AlbansLabaye
Mr Frank RoyMotherwell and WishawLabaye
Ms Geraldine SmithMorecambe and LunesdaleLabaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive