Mental Capacity Bill — Schedule 3 — Property and affairs: supplementary provisions — 14 Dec 2004 at 18:58

Mr Mark Hoban MP, Fareham voted in the minority (No).

I beg to move, That the Bill be now read the Third time. I do so with great pleasure.

This is an important and ethical Bill. Our progress on it has been fast, and much of today's debate has pertained to that. I think it right that, to meet the concerns of Members throughout the House, the Lord Chancellor undertook to continue discussions and negotiations until the eleventh hour, and I am pleased that Members have felt able to support the Government in the Lobbies on the basis of that. I am glad that we have achieved the ends, even if the means were a little unusual for Parliament.

Question put, That the Bill be now read the Third time.

The House divided: Ayes 354, Noes 118.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con11 86 (+2 tell)060.7%
DUP0 6085.7%
Ind0 1050.0%
Lab304 (+2 tell) 18179.9%
LDem36 3070.9%
PC2 0050.0%
SDLP0 1033.3%
UUP0 2040.0%
Total:353 117173.5%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Mr James ArbuthnotNorth East HampshireConaye
Mr John BercowBuckinghamConaye
Mr Kenneth ClarkeRushcliffeConaye
Mr David CurrySkipton and RiponConaye
Mr Stephen DorrellCharnwoodConaye
Mr Robert KeySalisburyConaye
Mr Andrew MacKayBracknellConaye
Mr Richard OttawayCroydon SouthConaye
Mr Richard PageSouth West HertfordshireConaye
Mr Andrew TyrieChichesterConaye
Sir George YoungNorth West HampshireConaye
Mr John BattleLeeds WestLabno
Mr Joe BentonBootleLabno
Mr Tony ColmanPutneyLabno
Mr Tom CoxTootingLabno
Mr David CrausbyBolton North EastLabno
Mr Denzil DaviesLlanelliLabno
Mr Jim DobbinHeywood and MiddletonLabno
Mr David DrewStroudLabno
Mr Frank FieldBirkenheadLabno
Mr Lindsay HoyleChorleyLabno
Dr Brian IddonBolton South EastLabno
Mr Peter KilfoyleLiverpool, WaltonLabno
Mr Terry LewisWorsleyLabno
Mr Andrew MacKinlayThurrockLabno
Mr George MudieLeeds EastLabno
Mr Kerry PollardSt AlbansLabno
Mr Frank RoyMotherwell and WishawLabno
Ms Geraldine SmithMorecambe and LunesdaleLabno
Mr David TaylorNorth West LeicestershireLabboth
Mr Brian CotterWeston-Super-MareLDemno
Mr John PughSouthportLDemno
Mr Adrian SandersTorbayLDemno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive