Gambling Bill — Third Reading — 24 Jan 2005 at 21:58

Mr Frank Field MP, Birkenhead voted in the minority (No).

Those voting Aye passed the Third Reading of the Gambling Bill. This completed the Bill's passage through the House of Commons. It would now become law subject to the agreement of the House of Lords and any amendments they made.

The main thrust of the bill was to deregulate the gambling industry and allow for a number of 'supercasinos' to be opened, though it also tightened up some regulations, mostly in uncontentious ways. In earlier stages it had been studied and modified by a committee of MPs and also by the whole house.

Later, during the Lords' consideration of the Bill, the government accepted an amendment reducing the number of supercasinos from 8 to 1.

The House divided: Ayes 236, Noes 38.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con1 604.3%
DUP0 3042.9%
Lab235 (+2 tell) 22 (+2 tell)064.0%
LDem0 000.0%
PC0 40100.0%
SNP0 1020.0%
UUP0 2040.0%
Total:236 38043.0%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Mr Eric PicklesBrentwood and OngarConaye
Mr Harry BarnesNorth East DerbyshireLabtellno
Mr Andrew BennettDenton and ReddishLabno
Mr Ian DavidsonGlasgow PollokLabno
Mr Denzil DaviesLlanelliLabno
Mr David DrewStroudLabno
Mrs Gwyneth DunwoodyCrewe and NantwichLabno
Mr Frank FieldBirkenheadLabno
Mr Mark FisherStoke-on-Trent CentralLabno
Dr Ian GibsonNorwich NorthLabno
Mr Win GriffithsBridgendLabno
Mr David HamiltonMidlothianLabno
Ms Kate HoeyVauxhallLabno
Mr Kelvin HopkinsLuton NorthLabtellno
Mr Calum MacDonaldNa h-Eileanan an IarLabno
Mr Andrew MacKinlayThurrockLabno
Mr John McDonnellHayes and HarlingtonLabno
Mr Austin MitchellGreat GrimsbyLabno
Mr Alan SimpsonNottingham SouthLabno
Mr Dennis SkinnerBolsoverLabno
Ms Geraldine SmithMorecambe and LunesdaleLabno
Mr Llew SmithBlaenau GwentLabno
Mr David TaylorNorth West LeicestershireLabno
Mr Robert WareingLiverpool, West DerbyLabno
Mr Alan WilliamsSwansea WestLabno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive