Modernisation of the House of Commons — 26 Jan 2005 at 16:40

Mr Ian Davidson MP, Glasgow Pollok voted in the minority (Aye).

A long series of changes were proposed to the Standing Orders of the House of Commons, related to the "sitting" hours of the House, to take effect after the General Election. These were edits to Standing Orders numbered 9, 10, 11, 12, 14, 15, 17, 24, 41A, 54, 83I, 88, 100, 108, 116.

The Aye-voters failed to change this list of changes (amendment (m)) for:

in line 64, at end insert:

"Line 6, at beginning insert ''Subject to paragraph (2A) below,'.
"Line 28, at end insert:
"(2A) Sub-paragraphs (a), (c), (d) and (e) of paragraph (2) above shall not apply to sittings of the House on Thursdays.".'.

The proposed set of changes to the Standing Orders, as amended by the last vote, but not this one, then passed without a further vote.

This may be a free vote for all parties.

(This was very confusing to piece together, and these changes now need explaining -julian)

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con120 4076.5%
DUP0 4057.1%
Ind0 1050.0%
Lab224 (+2 tell) 59 (+2 tell)070.3%
LDem35 8078.2%
PC2 20100.0%
SNP2 2080.0%
UUP5 00100.0%
Total:388 80072.8%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Mr Peter BottomleyWorthing WestConaye
Mrs Virginia BottomleySouth West SurreyConaye
Mr Peter LilleyHitchin and HarpendenConaye
Mr Richard OttawayCroydon SouthConaye
Mr Graham AllenNottingham NorthLabaye
Mr Kevin BarronRother ValleyLabaye
Miss Anne BeggAberdeen SouthLabaye
Dr Roger BerryKingswoodLabaye
Mr Keith BradleyManchester, WithingtonLabaye
Mr Stephen ByersNorth TynesideLabaye
Mr David CairnsGreenock and InverclydeLabaye
Mr Ian CawseyBrigg and GooleLabaye
Mr Colin ChallenMorley and RothwellLabaye
Mr Ben ChapmanWirral SouthLabaye
Mr Michael ConnartyFalkirk EastLabaye
Mr David CrausbyBolton North EastLabaye
Mrs Ann CryerKeighleyLabaye
Mr Jim CunninghamCoventry SouthLabaye
Mr Ian DavidsonGlasgow PollokLabaye
Mr Jim DobbinHeywood and MiddletonLabaye
Mr Brian H DonohoeCunninghame SouthLabaye
Mr David DrewStroudLabaye
Ms Julia DrownSouth SwindonLabaye
Mr Paul FarrellyNewcastle-under-LymeLabaye
Mr Frank FieldBirkenheadLabaye
Ms Lorna FitzsimonsRochdaleLabaye
Mr Michael Jabez FosterHastings and RyeLabaye
Ms Jane GriffithsReading EastLabaye
Mr Mike HallWeaver ValeLabaye
Mr David HamiltonMidlothianLabaye
Mr Tom HarrisGlasgow CathcartLabaye
Mr David HeyesAshton-under-LyneLabaye
Mr Lindsay HoyleChorleyLabaye
Mrs Joan HumbleBlackpool North and FleetwoodLabaye
Dr Brian IddonBolton South EastLabaye
Mr Brian JenkinsTamworthLabaye
Ms Helen JonesWarrington NorthLabaye
Mr Martyn JonesClwyd SouthLabaye
Mr David LepperBrighton, PavilionLabaye
Mrs Alice MahonHalifaxLabaye
Mr Gordon MarsdenBlackpool SouthLabaye
Mr Eric MartlewCarlisleLabaye
Mr John McFallDumbartonLabaye
Ms Ann McKechinGlasgow MaryhillLabaye
Mrs Rosemary McKennaCumbernauld and KilsythLabaye
Mr John McWilliamBlaydonLabaye
Mr Dan NorrisWansdykeLabaye
Mr Bill O'BrienNormantonLabaye
Ms Sandra OsborneAyrLabtellaye
Mr John RobertsonGlasgow AnnieslandLabtellaye
Mr Chris RuaneVale of ClwydLabaye
Mr Mohammad SarwarGlasgow GovanLabaye
Mr Phil SawfordKetteringLabaye
Mr Barry SheermanHuddersfieldLabaye
Mr Jim SheridanWest RenfrewshireLabaye
Mr Marsha SinghBradford WestLabaye
Mr Andrew SmithOxford EastLabaye
Ms Geraldine SmithMorecambe and LunesdaleLabaye
Mr David StewartInverness East, Nairn and LochaberLabaye
Mr Graham StringerManchester, BlackleyLabaye
Mr David TaylorNorth West LeicestershireLabaye
Mr Paddy TippingSherwoodLabaye
Dr Desmond TurnerBrighton, KemptownLabaye
Mr Bill TynanHamilton SouthLabaye
Mr Robert WareingLiverpool, West DerbyLabaye
Mr Alan BeithBerwick-upon-TweedLDemaye
Dr Vincent CableTwickenhamLDemaye
Mr Alistair CarmichaelOrkney and ShetlandLDemaye
Ms Sue DoughtyGuildfordLDemaye
Mr Nick HarveyNorth DevonLDemaye
Mr Nigel JonesCheltenhamLDemaye
Mr Adrian SandersTorbayLDemaye
Mr Matthew TaylorTruro and St AustellLDemaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive